The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred as a Rigorous Science

It’s a week before the big prom, and no one’s asked me out. And it’s not as if I didn’t let them know I’m interested! Hell—I was pretty shameless about it.

As you can perhaps imagine, I hate that. I also hate the fact that there were literally no (zero; 0) jobs advertised in what is technically the field in which I specialize (admittedly a mongrel). This state of affairs has had a depressive effect on my work ethic, and I hate the fact that I spent nearly every waking hour on Sunday playing an exceedingly stupid rpg.

Having locked my bicycle up outside SF Moma, intending to meet a friend and then go in, I had the hateful experience of seeing that the museum was closed. The next museum we attempted was also closed. We then saw a movie. On returning to my bicycle, I found that my bicycle was not all there to be returned to, for in the interim a thief had made off with its seatpost and saddle, leaving, insultingly, the collar behind. I walked it back from SoMa to the mission, where the closest bike shop I knew I could locate lives, but they didn’t have any seatposts of the proper width. So I went nine blocks off to a different shop, where they didn’t have any saddles I wanted (I got one anyway). What a hateful experience! And coming so soon after my shifter/derailer nightmare.

December 21, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

14 Comments

  1. I hate the uncertainty!!!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | December 21, 2010

  2. i hate i look like the red guards now hairwise, an acquaintance i met yesterday in the corridor said like wow
    i hated i couldn’t find a working hairsalon in the town on Sunday while there were two nail salons for each block which is like very strange for me who cuts my nails when they grow 1 mm

    Comment by read | December 21, 2010

  3. Which exceedingly stupid rpg?

    Comment by Jonathan | December 21, 2010

  4. i forgot to mention i hate i missed watching the lunar eclipse, no insomnia when i need it i thought i’d wake up anyway and didn’t set up an alarm clock

    Comment by read | December 21, 2010

  5. Oh Ben that sucks such big time! No hatred is more sorrow-inducing than that which is bike-related. Also, I think no one has plans for the prom this year, which I do not hate (because I kind of hate “the prom”).

    Comment by ebolden | December 21, 2010

  6. Bike-part thieves are sometimes more infuriating than actual bike thieves. At least if they take the whole fucking thing, you don’t have to do the walk of shame back to your place with a handicapped, hobbled bike.

    Comment by Brad Johnson | December 21, 2010

  7. So much fucking rain!

    Comment by jms | December 21, 2010

  8. I hate it when I forget, not only the content of something I’ve read, but that I’ve read it at all. This just happened to me with something that I read not nine months ago. And it’s interesting, and I found it so at the time (I now remember having read it), and I find it so now—yet if you’d asked me a week ago, I would have sworn up and down that I’d never read it at all.

    Comment by ben | December 21, 2010

  9. That’s kind of nice in a way though, isn’t it? You get the pleasure of discovery not once, but twice.

    Comment by jms | December 21, 2010

  10. I’m more inclined to conclude that my mind is going. Your way would probably be nicer.

    Comment by ben | December 21, 2010

  11. I hate paying 20 bucks for a hardback book and being sent a shitty, dirty paperback version instead, especially since I just saw a mint paperback of the same book at a chain used book store last week for 8 bucks. Thankfully, the place seems to have an easy return policy. I just hope someone else didn’t grab the other book yet.

    Comment by Dave Mesing | December 21, 2010

  12. I am curious what rpg, as well.

    Comment by Hill | December 21, 2010

  13. Carelessness, malice and insult.

    Comment by jms | December 23, 2010

  14. Eschalon, book 2.

    Comment by ben | December 23, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

