The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Lame-duck session

I confess that I’ve been thinking of my long winter break as my very own “lame-duck session,” but I can’t really justify the analogy. I’m getting a lot of stuff done, just like Congress suddenly is, but it seems like next quarter (my last at Kalamazoo) is more of a lame-duck type of period.

I confess that I had made a decision to let my beard grow out until the end of the year, but I got my hair cut and now it looks really weird to me. Now I have trimmed it, in part because it would be annoying to have all my relatives mention it constantly while I’m home for Christmas. I confess that I now feel as though I have lost a significant portion of my jaw and — much to The Girlfriend’s confusion — like I look like a monkey.

I confess that I was on a good streak of getting regular haircuts but waited longer than usual this time. I confess that I regard waiting too long for a haircut as something like a moral failing, for reasons that are unclear to me.

I confess that I started a novel around Thanksgiving and have only read 40 pages of it (C. by Tom McCarthy). I confess that in the meantime, I have read four other books. Perhaps I should admit that it’s just not grabbing me.

I confess that The Girlfriend is coming home with me for Christmas. The cruise last month with her family was a substitute for family Christmas, effectively clearing the path for a conflict-free decision this year. She has met most of my family members, a few more than once, but this is our first major holiday. I confess that in my adult years, I have always felt profoundly lonely during the Christmas season, but I imagine this year I’ll turn the corner.

December 24, 2010 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

8 Comments

  1. I too cut my hair this week. I confess that it has been about a year and a half since I last did so.

    Comment by Craig | December 24, 2010

  2. I, by contrast, have been letting my hair grow out, and up, and really in every direction, as it does, despite my judgment that I ought to get it cut.

    I confess that I am not looking forward to the APA.

    Comment by ben | December 24, 2010

  3. i confess i’m glad i’m not alone in looking weird after a too short haircut, if i went to mnhttn and perused the korean shop as usually they would have layered the hair okay i guess, but i wanted to try a local place and the only place i could find, costed me twice cheaper too, so my hair grows very fast anyway shouldn’t complain
    i’m glad that people will be having great holidays, looks like i should not leave the lab/ home as for me, alas
    merry christmas!

    Comment by read | December 24, 2010

  4. i was to confess to insomnia

    Comment by read | December 24, 2010

  5. cost is cost, i confess i didn’t sleep until 4 again, but didn’t take a pill cz have to drive in the morning, so feel sleepy now
    but natural sleepiness is better than the drug induced drowsiness i guess

    Comment by read | December 24, 2010

  6. I confess that since I have a decent-enough job and will be pretty bored this summer, I’m giving serious thought to buying a half-season plan for the Pittsburgh Pirates this summer, even though I have better things to spend the money on (although some of them are debatable, like saving for Phd applications next fall).

    Comment by Dave Mesing | December 25, 2010

  7. I confess that I’m feeling profoundly lonely this year.

    Comment by Hill | December 26, 2010

  8. i confess the blizzard was beautiful, the street lights, the knee deep snow, the wind and snowflakes
    the last meters walking were painful though, too cold and wet feet
    i suggest to Mr. Hill to have a facebook account and be friends with me, many superficial friends – less profundity of loneliness
    i confess i am worried about two of my fb friends, one has a painful physical ailment, another one was recently pretty painfully hurt by her imaginary friends, both keep quiet, but i hope they are okay and my and their other friends’ thoughts reach them ethereally and make them feel better

    Comment by read | December 27, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

