The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: “I’m all for hylomorphism, at four pm”

I hate the fact that I don’t have free in-room internet access in this expensive hotel. If I were staying in the fucking EconoLodge, I would have free in-room wireless. (Here, the in-room access is wired, but not free.) I hate the last moments of a plane trip—taxiing to the gate and then attempting to negotiate the press of people getting off. I hate that the process of exiting a plane seems to be that than which no less efficient can be imagined. I hate air travel in general—it really brings out my normally well hidden misanthropy. I hate that I have no interviews.

I hate that I forgot to bring my comb with me to Boston.

December 28, 2010 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

8 Comments

  1. I hate that you have no interviews.

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 28, 2010

  2. I hate the academic job market. I hate that in these days of declining listings, someone might make last-minute (and therefore more expensive) plans to go to a conference for just one interview, when they will be one among 10-12 and run a decent chance of randomly disqualifying themselves in the first five minutes.

    I hate it when I realize too late that I don’t have any poop bags with me while walking the dog.

    I hate the days of serial disappointment that accompany expecting a check in the mail.

    I hate driving. We rented a car to go visit my parents this weekend (in part so we could take the dog), and by the end of the weekend I had near-constant pain in my jaw from the stress of it. It took until this morning for it to go away.

    I hate it when people are walking close behind me and won’t pass. A couple weeks ago, there was this person walking closely behind me and The Girlfriend for a couple blocks, and toward the end I was seriously tempted to turn around and yell, “Just fucking pass us!!!”

    Even more, I hate being that person and not being able to pass without speeding up to a ridiculous degree, particularly when I’m walking behind a woman (hence making me look/feel like a stalker).

    I hate New Year’s Eve.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | December 28, 2010

  3. I hate this week of work between Christmas and New Year’s. Every year I tell myself I probably should have just taken it off. But then I’d just end up vegetating at home, eating too much fast food, watching too much TV and probably showering too infrequently.

    Comment by mattintoledo | December 28, 2010

  4. I hate that I didn’t fall asleep until like 3am this morning.

    Comment by ben | December 28, 2010

  5. Furthermore, I hate convention badges that attach with a pin, rather than with a clip.

    Comment by ben | December 28, 2010

  6. i hate to sense that might be a person walks behind me without hearing or any other signs of walking perceived, just a feeling and turn around to really see the person, have this kind of like the xth sense
    the same with when somebody is staring at me, usually in the cafeteria or other places, i feel something and look around and somebody is looking at me, some kind of electromagnetic waves i guess, a strange perception, not smell/sound/touch/sight/i forget what else material sense
    i hate i forgot my badge so feel like stranded in the building, can’t go freely everywhere and have to wait for the coworker

    Comment by read | December 28, 2010

  7. I hate people who leave their engine running at night & under the windows of my bed room, for no other reason as to make out or have a heated argument or just having a warm car. I would love criminals to stop by to steal all those running cars or motorcycles and I hope I once will be able to see such a stealing & refuse to report it.

    I specifically hate same with loud boom-boom music on all speakers that goes all disco on you whenever they open the door.

    Shorter: I hate cars and the people who love to drive ’em.

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 29, 2010

  8. I hate that I did all of my Everglades touring without getting in a single watercraft. But I don’t hate that there were alligators and beautiful birds everywhere I turned, and I’ll probably do a mangrove kayak trip from Sarasota.

    Comment by k-sky | December 30, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

