The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Fine Feeling & Delicate Sensibility

Not long ago I finished Independent People, which is utterly fantastic and recommended highly to all. What, though, do you suppose the first word of the last chapter was? It was this: “Heaven’s”. But it should have been this, for it was an expostulation: “Heavens”. How the fuck was this allowed to happen? Practically the worst possible place for a mistake like that to be made, and it is, as far as I can recall, the only error (of that sort) the whole book through.

Here’s something I don’t hate: earlier this week the line “we could be so happy, you and me—if we wanted to” was running through my head, but I couldn’t remember what it was from. (In fact I didn’t even really try very hard to remember.) But now a felicitous random choice by audacious has brought the song and its artist once more to my attention. I do, however, hate that I started playing it and then started writing this with the result that I basically didn’t attend to the song at all.

January 11, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

7 Comments

  1. I hate people that ignore red lights when it is clear that children are busy respecting them. I specifically hate that I was like that most of my life.

    Comment by Guido Nius | January 11, 2011

  2. I hate it when I get into moods where good news would feel much more disruptive and anxiety-provoking than bad news.

    I hate it when worthless suck-ups get rewarded and hard workers wind up getting screwed (paraphrase: “I hate it always”).

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 11, 2011

  3. I hate situations when a more experienced and competent person has to report to someone who doesn’t really know what they’re doing or what’s going on. (Again: “I hate it always.”)

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 11, 2011

  4. i hate i would like to like this post, i mean press the button, but afraid people would hate that
    the buttons to vote up or down as on youtube or other sites are convenient too, you express that you agree or not at one push and someone already said what i would have wanted to say
    i hate when the other car comes to the crossroad without the lights at full speed and proceeds without stopping, like right in front of me, maybe there are the yield or stops signs there which i didn’t notice, usually it seems they are on all sides or absent, but still it feels so much safer when one comes to the crossroad and speeds down just in case

    Comment by read | January 11, 2011

  5. I hate job applications–too much paperwork, too much effort, too much expense. One job advertisement I found, however, only requests a list of references, cv, and, obviously, a cover. Efficient and cost-effective. And it’s tenure-track.

    Comment by Craig | January 11, 2011

  6. You know what’d be great? If application processes were standardized and the types of things you would need were known by all.

    One possible process: step one is as Craig describes (always my favorite places to apply!). Step two, they ask for references (preferably from a service like Interfolio rather than asking on an individual basis). If they want to do more filtering before the interview stage, everyone would know to have a writing sample, a research agenda, and a teaching portfolio (with standard contents) on hand. Simple! Fun! Through the magic of e-mail, you could get the desired information within a day, instead of wasting hundreds of man-hours across the nation by requiring everyone to submit a full dossier from the start.

    Oh, and there’s no reason to require official transcripts, ever.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 11, 2011

  7. I’d like to know if it is standard practice to contact references directly or to notify the applicant that references will be requested.

    I’d like the institution of the “teaching portfolio” or “teaching dossier” to be dissolved. Too much paper and I’m pretty sure no one reads it–after all, all applicants most likely say the same thing: students are awesome, teaching is awesome, I love teaching and students, so I’m awesome too.

    I’d also be nice if more places accepted emailed submissions. Spending $20 (or whatever) on an overnight courier with tracking is just ridiculous.

    I’ve heard of jobs requesting transcripts. I feel that if a university made such a request routine in its hiring decisions, that it is a place I wouldn’t want to work at. They’d also likely want a sample of your pee, a cheek swab, a criminal record check, and a driving abstract. Perhaps also tax records. Maybe even a statement of loyalty to the cause of the university and the nation.

    Comment by Craig | January 11, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

