The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: can you get through this life with a good heart?

Let me start the post with some rather specialized hates.

I hate that an “upgrade”, undertaken without thought, to udev led to my CD drive’s being inaccessible for a while. I only noticed it recently and got it fixed on that day (though I can’t yet be sure that all symlinks will be properly generated), but it was extremely annoying and tracking down the information necessary to make the right kernel changes was far more complicated than it ought to have been.

I also hate that audacious appears to forget about ampersands when saving and reloading XSPF playlists, and I am mildly ticked off that roxterm doesn’t treat the –geometry commandline flag correctly.

I hate it when questions not impeccably phrased are interpreted in the worst possible way. I hate even more staircase philosophy—had I the chance now to ask the question I actually asked on Saturday, it would be way better. There are a couple reasons for this:

  1. The person of whom the question was asked probably did not get the best impression of me. (Judging from comments after the talk, most of the audience members got the idea, though.)
  2. The person of whom the question was asked still doesn’t see the problem besetting him!!! Someone is wrong in the academy!
  3. I missed a chance to make a more general point.

I’m not sure whether I should hate my ongoing decathexis, or whether I should hate that my ongoing decathexis was interrupted by a really good talk by Stephen Mulhall.

January 18, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

6 Comments

  1. i hate typing on the phone, typos and mistakes, too much and often snow this year

    Comment by read | January 18, 2011

  2. I hate the disheveled feeling I get after a long weekend where I come into work, know there is plenty that needs to be done, but can’t for the life of me think of what it might be.

    Comment by mattintoledo | January 18, 2011

  3. Last week my students read Douglas Hay’s piece on capital punishment and English criminal law in the eighteenth century. I asked them, “What sort of theory or explanatory model is he using?” They couldn’t come up with a label for it, but listed the basic features of vulgar Marxism. Soon thereafter, a student said, “sounds like conflict theory.” I suspect, but don’t actually know, that this term is the fault of eminent sociologist Randall Collins and it is what respectable American and Canadian sociologists–i.e., those who refuse to mention Marx on political grounds–think of themselves as “doing.” Suffice to say, I hate Randall Collins for this. I also hate that standard text of his that is often used in graduate seminars in American doctoral programs.

    Comment by Craig | January 18, 2011

  4. The mobile interface of The Weblog is pretty cool.

    I hate that the New York Review of Books is not more lefty. I hate that I had a fantasy about the New York Review of Books.

    Comment by josh k-sky | January 19, 2011

  5. I spent the majority of my waking hours in the past week typing (mostly work, although okay, some blog reading, and maybe a couple hours playing Zuma. Playing Zuma, or trying to, with a track pad was definitely a bad idea.), with much of the remainder put towards practicing guitar and my forehand groundstroke. Almost certainly as a result my right wrist is now achy and weak, and my right hand is numb along my pinky and fourth finger. I bet you can guess how I feel about this.

    Comment by jms | January 20, 2011

  6. I hate that my neck and shoulders are incredibly sore. I hate having to go to the bathroom to a degree sufficient to keep me awake, but not to a degree sufficient to just get it over with.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 20, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

