The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: The Phone

I confess that I may have missed out on a campus interview in part because I didn’t sound enthusiastic on the phone. This is because I never sound enthusiastic on the phone. The way I come across on the phone accurately reflects my true feelings: I hate being on the phone. Yet it is also misleading, insofar as one naturally extrapolates to the idea that my tone reflects my feelings about the content as well as the form of the exchange. I can think of a lot of other good reasons why I didn’t get the campus interview, though, so I’ll be okay.

I confess that few things please me as much as an empty inbox and a zero balance.

I confess that after having a bag of rice on hand in my Kalamazoo cupboard for nearly a year, I finally decided to try my hands at beans and rice. I count it as a success.

I confess that whenever I realize that one quarter has already come and gone this year, I am shocked. They just get faster and faster. Thankfully (?) this is the last one for now, or else I might completely lose all concept of time.

January 21, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

10 Comments

  1. I confess that I am basing characters in my next script on my mother, my best friends from high school and college, and my sister-in-law.

    I confess that by trying to avoid cross-scheduling Mrs. K-sky’s birthday party with one friend’s, I accidentally scheduled it on the same day as another friends, and I further confess that I wish it were the other way around.

    Comment by k-sky | January 21, 2011

  2. i confess how troublesome was the last night, first, i came home to very strong smell of pee in the hallway, thought, must be a homeless person passed through it and tried to eliminate it in the apartment using candles and stove and windows
    turns out, he was still there and must be someone complained about the smell, so the super came to chase him out, so much noise and i felt guilt ridden, though what could i do, just to offer a few dollars, surely, nothing else much
    then the smoke/ gas detector started chirping at 3 am, couldn’t be fixed until later cz he’s cleaning the snow right now, the super said, i hate allowing somebody into the apartment when i”m absent
    i confess i still didn’t find any shows on tv to follow, b/c i don’t watch it at the shows times i guess and i don’t have any means to record them

    Comment by read | January 21, 2011

  3. the smell, i wish for the thicker, sound and smell proof walls in the new year

    Comment by read | January 21, 2011

  4. I confess that I just got an email that began “Dear Ben (if I may)” and went on to tell me that I was no longer being considered for a faculty position at [a university]. I confess that I have not emailed back, though I wanted to, suggesting that if one’s first interaction with a person is an email delivering unwelcome if not unanticipated news, maybe the move to chatty informality ought to be delayed a bit.

    Comment by ben | January 21, 2011

  5. I confess to wishing there was some sort of better defined convention for conversations on Twitter. People retweet and then add their own comments in so many different ways it can be very difficult to tell who’s making what comments.

    Thankfully, I only use Twitter to stay up-to-the-minute current on baseball news so hardly anything I read is all that important. If that weren’t the case, this problem might REALLY annoy me.

    Comment by mattintoledo | January 21, 2011

  6. I just realized my comment makes the assumption anything important is every communicated through Twitter. I suppose this COULD be true, but I’m skeptical.

    Comment by mattintoledo | January 21, 2011

  7. I confess that today was one of the most deeply disappointing days of my professional life.

    I confess that it’s 70 degrees outside, brilliantly sunny and without a speck of cloud in the sky, and I’m stuck behind a desk, toiling away at my hateful computer.

    I would go on, but it’s not a Tuesday.

    Comment by jms | January 21, 2011

  8. I confess that today I found my pants in the supply cabinet in the office bathroom.

    Comment by jms | January 21, 2011

  9. One can’t but wonder if those confessions are related.

    Comment by ben | January 21, 2011

  10. I was not at all disappointed to find my pants!

    Comment by jms | January 22, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

