The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Upset Screws

I hate that not until I typed it did I realize that this week’s TH subtitle could be taken to mean something like “angry copulations”. (Nevertheless, on typing it I realized it immediately—so I’m not totally out of it.) In fact the title has a far different origin, in my discovery on leaving a party Saturday that my front derailer cage was totally misaligned (the result of the lock’s weight having rested on it for so long? Who knows!). I managed to get things mostly in order when I got home, but the high limit set screw did nothing. Nothing! I turned and turned that screw to no effect. The internet indicated that if this happened the shifter cable should be tightened. But the last time I tried anything involving that disaster ensued. (This time all that happened was that I pulled off the little thing crimped onto the end to keep the wires from fraying.) I hate all this bull. But, you see now what I was going for. Set screw. Not right. Upset, you might say. Upset set screw. Ho ho ho.

I hate that I spent today in a most unpleasant headachy state, in which, more or less, having my eyes open caused me pain. I hate that, although I was able to get a Haskell solution to a silly algorithmic problem to go from taking several minutes to taking thirty seconds to run, I have no idea why the changes I made had that effect. (They also had the effect of making the code cleaner and even slightly more, dare I say it, elegant. But I know why that happened.) I hate that a friend’s bike was stolen. I hate that I’ve been limping for over a week because of some weirdness with my right big toe.

January 25, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

9 Comments

  1. According to television, if you’ve also been carrying around an enormous erlenmeyer flask filled with green liquid, it could be gout.

    I hate how doing diligent research on products causes one to feel like there is no such thing as a good product. This, for me, is caused by the bad reviews sticking in my head 100X more effectively than the good ones.

    Comment by mattintoledo | January 25, 2011

  2. i hate i should not try to interact with people online, it always ends in some more or less disaster upheaval which i sometimes regret, sometimes don’t
    my lasting presence here i attribute to the least possible interaction level, just come to vent off like self-therapeutically
    though in even doing so i should try to limit negative, possible to upset people ruminations, i guess
    should cherish the only site where i was told i am welcome however unreasonable i were
    i think isolated big toe sounds gout, a bit young to start imho, so maybe it’s something different
    everyday foot care, foot bath, massage, observation? but if it lasted already a week, and now is showing some systemic symptoms like headache, one’d better go to a doctor

    Comment by read | January 25, 2011

  3. In spite of ‘hatred’ being the ‘tenor’ of the post on Tuesday, I’d like to confess something ‘I love’: it is reading the refreshingly genuine comments written by ‘read’.

    Cheers read!

    Comment by visitor | January 25, 2011

  4. thanks, V! i needed that and that of my Fbfs

    Comment by read | January 25, 2011

  5. I hate that I’ve stopped exercising. I hate that there’s no obvious flat, mildly entertaining walk from my new house. I hate that my TV writing partner is also working on her PhD thesis while I do not have a solo project of remotely comparable heft. I hate that in my new house, my desk isn’t in a room where I can close the door. I hate that I’ve kind of wasted January.

    Comment by josh k-sky | January 25, 2011

  6. Ben, the worst case would be that your front derailer is bent. (It’s usually hard to tell without taking it off the bike and holding it up against a straight one for reference.) If that’s the problem, it might be less trouble to replace it than trying to bend it back.

    Before you do that, though, make sure it’s aligned properly, i.e., parallel to the chainrings with ~2mm clearance over the big ring. (Shift all the way down so there’s some slack in the cable before you try to move it around.) If, once it’s aligned, you still can’t get the chain onto the big ring, and there’s a gap between the high limit screw and the contact point, then the derailer cable is too tight.

    I’m bad at explaining this stuff (hate that), and it’s probably all obvious anyway, but I hope you can get it fixed soon.

    Comment by toops | January 25, 2011

  7. Gah. “Too tight” s/b too loose.

    Comment by toops | January 25, 2011

  8. Hey, thanks toops. I ended up just taking it to the campus bike shop, where it was swiftly repaired. Someday, though, I should really learn how to do this stuff myself.

    Comment by ben | January 25, 2011

  9. I hate that I am responsible for clearing my walk of snow and ice. I hate that said walk is so situated that all melting runoff from the roof winds up contributing to an impenetrable hump of ice in the center of the walk. I hate that my general practice is to allow it to build up to an intolerable level — reasoning that its unique propensity to gather ice speaks in favor of leaving a protective layer of snow — and then one day, out of the blue, attempt to get it all the way down to bare ground. Today is that day. I have not reached bare ground.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 25, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

