The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: ENOTCONN

I’m pretty sure I just found a bug in a relatively ancient Python module in the standard library, which is neat (I mean if I did find such a thing), but I still hate it, because (a) if that’s not the problem then I have no idea wtf is going on; (b) dealing with this shit is still annoying as fuck. Actually there seems to be a relatively simple workaround. But still. Hate. My toe is still in a pretty questionable state, by the way; I think it’s got something to do with a particular pair of shoes. Well who knows. I like those shoes so it would be pretty unfortunate if I had to GO WITHOUT. Also, I hate qmail.

February 8, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

7 Comments

  1. I hate that I forgot to buy toilet paper during my last trip to the grocery store, which will likely necessitate another trip in the next day or so. I hate to be repetitious, but I still hate the ice situation on my back walk.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 8, 2011

  2. Someone left an odd comment on my blog the other day. I replied to it. Since then the person has emailed me twice, essentially sending newspaper articles using the “email to a friend” function. Obviously, I am not the person’s friend and, of course, the emailed articles don’t actually display properly in email nor is there a link to the original article… Anyway, I’m not sure if this is a hatred or annoyance, but I thought I’d mention it anyway.

    The benefits of having a blog that only your mom reads is that you don’t usually get this sort of thing.

    Comment by Craig | February 8, 2011

  3. FWIW, I was right about the bug, but it’s been fixed in the 3.2 release candidate.

    Comment by ben | February 8, 2011

  4. I hate that the bug Ben found in a Python module was not an entomological discovery in a taxidermic snake, as I had thought until I finished reading the post.

    Comment by ebolden | February 8, 2011

  5. I hate that iContact, a company that provides a means to do an online newsletter, requires that you call them on the phone to cancel your subscription. They also do autorenewals and if the card number they have is no longer functional, they send you an email reminding you to give them a valid one and that cancelling your service does not exempt you from paying your annual subscription fees. Douches.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 8, 2011

  6. i hate the huge potholes being generated all over the local roads here, i try to navigate them but still those are so many and some are unavoidable so i fear something will break in the car from bumping so much, if here one winter with a lot of snow, but relatively moderate temps it looks like this, it’s a wonder that our roads hold up at all
    i hated to get charged for The sports illustrated, cz i never subscribed to it, but got maybe 5-6 issues, the credit card took away the charges when i notified them that i didn’t authorize those transactions
    kept getting Everyday with Rachel Ray’s mag too, but it was free and with nice meal pictures, so i didn’t mind

    Comment by read | February 8, 2011

  7. I hate when people act like they are making a profound or novel point when in fact they are saying something utterly banal and commonsensical. I unfortunately have in my mind right now the devotionals that some of my teachers like to being class with at my seminary.

    Comment by Willie | February 9, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

