The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Grading

I confess that grading sometimes puts me in a bad mood, but I managed to get through an imposing pile of papers this week.

I confess that I received some misinformation about Cornel West being Kanye West’s uncle and that I have passed it on to my students when the occasion has arisen. This time around, someone looked into it, proving my claim to be unfounded. I confess that I have no idea who gave me the idea that they were related, but I was very confident it was true.

I confess that the winter weather vastly increases my desire to sleep, and more specifically, not to wake up at the early hour required for my morning classes. At least now the days have lengthened enough that the sun comes up before I start walking to campus.

I confess that the super-cold temperatures have produced one benefit for me: my sidewalk is completely free of ice, as there has been no run-off from the roof. Next week will apparently be warmer, presumably ending this idyllic state and also saddling us with gross, dirty islands of snow in the middle of muddy, dead lawns. Ah, February! Is there any month so cursed by God?

February 11, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

7 Comments

  1. I confess that amid an entertainment best described on Monday, I checked on my phone to see if it was worth continuing. Manohla Dargis and the Rotten Tomatoes page helped me decide to turn it off midway through and switch to an entertainment best described on Thursday.

    I confess that I’m about to go out to an 11 pm UCB show, which is probably a bad decision seeing as I’m just starting to feel better from a week-long cold.

    I confess that not only did I bullshit my way through a client interview yesterday, I did so with only the faintest notion that my mouth was forming distinct syllables, because of said cold.

    Comment by k-sky | February 11, 2011

  2. I confess I was unduly intrigued by the New York Times story on the sources of and solutions to household dust, but then was disappointed when, like every single other NYT lifestyle article ever published, it turned out to be about the neuroses and fancy homes of rich people.

    Comment by jms | February 11, 2011

  3. I confess that I slipped and fell on the ice today for the first time in like seven years. Fucking thin layer of snow!

    I confess that I just bought my last 10-ride Amtrak ticket between Chicago and Kalamazoo.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 11, 2011

  4. Holy crap, I think the gardener just threatened to kill me. I confess I’m having a bad morning.

    Comment by jms | February 11, 2011

  5. I confess that I left a taunting comment on a blog hosted at steinford. I confess that I’m not sure how fit together the remaining pieces of my dissertation.

    I confess that according to a friend I am the least subtle ogler in the world.

    Comment by ben | February 11, 2011

  6. my sympathies, jms
    if one is always agreeable and considerate people react as if like so hugely shocked when one says something to contradict them is my conclusion about my own strange morning, one is better to be less agreeable on a daily basis maybe to sensitize them
    so i say sue him for the threats if it is possible, if it won’t be too much bother for you
    or threaten him even more scarily to learn his lesson cz such people perhaps just don’t understand other language

    Comment by read | February 11, 2011

  7. March?

    Comment by Guido Nius | February 13, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

