The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Deferred

I hate that if one wants one’s application written using the Twisted Python framework to accept command-line options, one must submit to using the Twisted-provided commandline parsing library, “twisted.usage”, rather than much preferable to me stdlib module optparse (or even argparse!). I hate, furthermore, how little beer it takes to get me rather tipsy (in this case 26oz + some small free pours). I can already feel the effects, ladies and gents. Also I didn’t really like the second beer. WHAT an awful thing my life is! I wrote all of a paragraph—maybe not even that—today; hateful that. I seem frequently to letpass as sufficient unto the day what really is not sufficient. I hate how often it transpires that immediately on getting home I feel fatigued. Yet if I had stayed out, perhaps I would not have? Is my room suffused with some kind of drug? Is it the color of the walls? Does that actually make a difference?

February 15, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

13 Comments

  1. I hate that the only place I haven’t had 3G on my new iPhone is in my house.

    I hate that this complaint would have the #whiteguyproblems hash tag on Twitter.

    I hate that sheepish, “I swear I’m not trying to act cool”, feeling I get when I either mention having a new iPhone or somebody sees it.

    I’ve learned that no matter how much money I ever have in the future, I would not be comfortable with showing it through the purchase of a huge house or awesome car.

    I would enjoy people complimenting my house because we decorated cleverly or made good use of space. I wouldn’t be comfortable with “Oh my God, this is a mansion!”

    Same thing with cars. I’m embarrassed enough that I feel the need to keep myself in fairly late model cars. I couldn’t deal with the need to explain why I felt I needed something that cost $75K and has 550 hp.

    Fortunately(?), these are not problems I will need to come to terms with anytime soon.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 15, 2011

  2. I hate that Sprint has changed their “premier service” into a two-tiered program that has free annual upgrades only for the top tier (to which I do not belong). This change is set to occur a relatively short time before I would be due for an upgrade, compounding my hatred.

    I hate it when Amtrak passengers complain out loud that there are no spots with two conjoined seats open, rather than, for instance, fucking asking someone to move. Obviously most passengers are traveling alone, and they mostly prefer to sit in a seat by themselves (or even if they don’t, they politely assume others will) and thus don’t sit down next to someone unless forced to by lack of seats. Nowhere in this thought process does the idea of unnecessarily sitting next to someone in order to leave room for couples occur to anyone — in part because any seats left open would almost certainly then be taken by a single person. In other words: sorry, you traveling-together bastards, but the world isn’t custom tailored to your needs.

    Perhaps if these people weren’t so helplessly entitled, they’d think of an obvious solution: for instance, finding two seats across the aisle from each other, then asking if one of the two singles will move to sit with the other (since now they are no longer in single seats in any case).

    I hate that one of these people complained that I had placed my bag on the seat next to me, something I normally don’t do until it seems that everyone has boarded — I do concede that doing that while people are still looking for seats is a dick move, but I hate getting called out for it when my intentions were pure. It also occurs to me that the very fact that my personal statute of limitations for putting my bag on the seat had passed means that these obnoxious co-travelers were late-comers in the boarding process, making their sense of entitlement to conjoined seating even more hateful and despicable.

    I also hate that people always overreact when the power is briefly shut off on the train on arrival at Union Station, something that happens on literally every trip. “Stupid Amtrak can’t even keep the power on, ha ha.” Yeah, shut the fuck up.

    Honestly, when facing delays or inconvenience, I prefer to be traveling alone and to be around people who are also traveling alone. An analogous situation: I once went to Hot Doug’s by myself for lunch. Hot Doug’s is famous for its long lines, and inevitably, some of my fellow line-waiters were bitching about the long lines and overanalyzing every aspect of the line’s movements. Meanwhile, I was just waiting patiently by myself. There’s something about being with other people in that situation that makes it almost unavoidable that you’ll talk about it and thus wind up thinking about it more — annoying yourselves and those around you. I HATE IT.

    I hate it when high school kids harrass people on the L, particularly when my attempts to ignore them paradoxically make me a direct target.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 15, 2011

  3. Matt, You should just turn on the wifi in your house — it’d be faster anyway.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 15, 2011

  4. I remain fascinated by the transition my cohort has made from a shared student-style standard of living to big houses, SUVs, fancy holidays and so on, especially the conversational decorum used to avoid any sense of “fuck, isn’t this just going too far?”.

    I think DFW uses this example of the way if someone farts everyone studiously ignores it, and this kind of sanctioned conspicuous consumption is a bit like this, among people who ought to know better. So nobody actually says “this is a mansion” or asks you to explain it…

    Comment by Gabe | February 15, 2011

  5. i hate the driver’s side’s window’s glass won’t come up out of the door, something is broken in the door, the button chip, and now have to find a car repair shop to fix it
    i hate the guy won’t just open the gate when i show the id, so have to open the window and slide the badge every time that’s why it gets broken, if it was the universal rule and everybody has to slide then it’s okay, but he opens for other people reportedly
    i hate too when there is no network sometimes in the evenings/nights, the other day i thought something wrong with the phone and reset its software cz it kept suggesting me that troubleshooting, so many pictures and some itune purchases are gone
    then i can’t syncronize my ipod, it updates only 43 songs out of 2000 i have, i tried this and other ways, nothing happens, either the phone’s software is broken or itunes, hateful

    Comment by read | February 15, 2011

  6. Adam – Hmm, investigation is in order. The WiFi is always on and I seem to remember entering my password to connect, but my phone seems to be almost useless in the house.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 15, 2011

  7. I hate medical bills, the lull that feels like a lack of prospects, not having my own home office, living eight miles farther from everything I used to live eight miles closer to, and being the breadloser in the marriage.

    I hate that I called a restaurant, asked if I could use my Groupon last night, was told yes, then arrived to find it was a prix fixe dinner (for which Groupons are specifically forbidden). I further hate that when I double-checked on the Groupon, the waitress explained that they were indeed disallowed for Valentine’s Day, and I especially hated that this situation put back on me the lingering feeling of schmuckiness that I was the guy who had to make a stink about his Groupon and had one in the first place. I don’t hate that the situation resolved in my favor, nor that the lingering schmuckiness gently subsided in direct relation to the level of wine in the bottle, nor that my wife does not give one tenth of a damn about any of it, even, to an astonishing degree, my breadloserness. I do hate that when we asked the waitress about wine, she recommended all bottles around $20 more expensive than the ones we’d asked about.

    One year we hosted dinner for three other couples on Valentine’s Day and that was the best play yet.

    Comment by k-sky | February 15, 2011

  8. I hate that I don’t have internet at home. I also hate the reason I don’t have internet at home, the details of which I won’t get into here, since talking trash about my ex on the internet would be a hateful thing to do. I hate that during my eighty-minute-long telephone call with AT&T yesterday to try to resolve the problem, I was placed on hold and/or transferred to a new department no less than six times, and that the first couple people I talked to were not only incredibly clueless, but told me things that were demonstrably false. I hate that I grew progressively testier as the call progressed, which finally resulted in my being pretty snotty to the last people I spoke to, who were, after all, the most helpful.

    I hate that my front yard is a disgraceful shambles. I hate the reason for that too, which is that my bizarro encounter with the nightmare tree care man last week messed up my plans to finally take care of the stupid problem. I hate that it’s raining now, and that my new appointment (with a different tree care person) to resolve the issue has now been canceled.

    Why are all the comfortable chairs so ugly? I hate that.

    Comment by jms | February 15, 2011

  9. Man, everyone else has much more meaningful, strongly felt hatreds than I do.

    Comment by ben | February 15, 2011

  10. Not everyone ;-(

    Comment by Guido Nius | February 15, 2011

  11. i got my window closed like miraculously, perhaps the prayer wheel helped
    if to light the room brightly it helps to productivity they say, in the factories

    Comment by read | February 15, 2011

  12. I went home and played with the iPhone yesterday. I think we just bog down our wireless when there are two iPhones and a computer or two all making demands on our wireless capacity.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 16, 2011

  13. I hate that I don’t have enough time to take all the geography quizzes on the internet.

    Comment by transportinburma | February 17, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

