The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Peanut Butter

I hate that despite encouraging (though simultaneously quite distressing in their being necessary at all) events in Wisconsin I find it nearly inconceivable that the country will undertake a meaningful change in direction probably within my lifetime. Perhaps this is a failure of imagination on my part.

I hate my bad posture and my flabby midriff, and my lack of industry. I hate how difficult it is lately to concentrate on my dissertation. I hate applying for fellowships that I more or less feel it would be infra dig. to accept. (Infra anyone’s dig., let’s be clear, not just mine.) And, indeed, applying for anything at all; also, attempting to render my résumé more enticing. What, after all, have I ever done?

February 22, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

12 Comments

  1. Peanut butter; I hate the way it clings to the inside of my mouth and becomes difficult to remove.

    Comment by Rob L | February 22, 2011

  2. i hate long weekends

    Comment by read | February 22, 2011

  3. @read
    I am slightly disappointed you hate long weekends. Weekends are never long enough, except perhaps on cold winter days when your home heating is broken and you’d rather like to be in the office (where you hope their heating isn’t switched off to save on weekends, like [insert a greedy company, or any University in poor countries, or in rich but greedy countries]

    Comment by grrl_visitor | February 22, 2011

  4. I hate applying for things. I hate “marketing myself.” I hate that I will soon have to move — the end effect will be good, but the process never is.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 22, 2011

  5. I hated everything in Toledo being encased in fucking ice. This killed one of our trees and nearly took out a wire attached to our hosue. When I was dislodging a tree branch from the wire, I was hoping it was a telephone wire and had nothing to with the provision of electricity. I hated not knowing that for sure.

    It also caused another tree to droop low enough so that when the wind blew, its branches scraped across our roof. Our younger dog, a much more tenacious protector of our home than his elder and larger brother, thought this was somebody outside the house and was therefore on edge whenever it was windy. This was first humorous, eventually annoying.

    I hated hearing my wife stand up into a cupboard door from upstairs. When I ran downstairs to find out what happened, I found her double over, crying and cursing. I also hate the nausea – related to knowing all too well what they’re going through -that comes over me when I hear someone describe such an incident.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 22, 2011

  6. I’m with read: long weekends are terrible, especially when they are fake long weekends like the one we just had–“Family Day.” The fuck? Don’t families need groceries and shit? Why is everything closed? Perhaps my perspective would be different if I weren’t a permatemp.

    I’m also with Adam: writing cover letters, for instance, is absolutely horrible.

    Comment by Craig | February 22, 2011

  7. yeah, on long weekends time goes so slowly, yesterday, for example, i watched _Cleopatra_ for four hrs, very beautiful, but boring and worrying about one’s family members’ health/ wellbeing is terrifying, i would so much prefer to get sick myself
    for better concentration candies work good for me, i’m eating now some chocolate covered Polish orange marhsmallow and feel like my head is so clear

    Comment by read | February 22, 2011

  8. Speaking of peanut butter, my Girl Scout cookies arrived today, courtesy of my secretary, whose daughter is a scout. I got a box of peanut butter cookies, which is what I requested when I filled out the preorder form a couple months ago. I actually hate peanut butter cookies. You know who is the only person I know who really likes these cookies? My ex. Aaaaa what is wrong with me.

    Comment by jms | February 22, 2011

  9. I love the Girl Scout cookies I ordered-Samoa’s. I hate that I came home to find my dog had ate the entire box full.

    I hate constantly feeling like a closet heretic at the school I attend.

    Comment by William | February 24, 2011

  10. Blasted-I hate misplaced apostrophes!

    Comment by William | February 24, 2011

  11. Samoas are the fucking bomb.

    Comment by jms | February 24, 2011

  12. Stimmt.

    Comment by ben | February 24, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

