The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Architeuthis Walks on Land

I hate it when supposedly high-end clothiers sell shirts and jackets in fake sizes (that is, small, medium, large, etc.) rather than in real sizes (you know, with numbers and shit). I hate that the back of a new tie, you know, where the part with the actual pattern closes in on itself and whatnot, has ruptured open exposing the fluffy innards. I hate a particular pair of pants I have which I cannot wear on my bike because the crotch will rip. I hate that, as far as I can tell, the power supply in my computer has failed. I really hope that’s what it is, at least, because I already bought a new power supply (and because the only other culprit I can think of offhand is some kind of motherboard failure and I really don’t want to have to replace that). I also really hope that, in failing, it didn’t cause anything else to fail owing to sudden power loss. I hate the steadily decreasing job possibilities I have and I also hate the thought that I might leave academia and be forever consumed by regret and self-hatred and what-might-have-beens and whatnot. Furthermore I hate my creaky back. I swear to god, I’m going to totally fall apart before I’m 35.

I hate the absence of people in my life with whom I can have long conversations about musical minutiae and also see concerts with, IN PERSON, because, for one thing, it leads to my, like, losing my edge, maaaan, and, for another, it leads to me leaving many comments in a row on the blogs of music writers that happen to mention something I know about. I hate people who talk about possible worlds as if they were anything more than an actually not very convenient at all notational convenience (rather than actual metaphysical explanantia, e.g.).

March 1, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

12 Comments

  1. i hate i’m up from 2 am

    Comment by read | March 1, 2011

  2. I hate that I have to pay back taxes for my wife, though her despair after her divorce is understandable and therefore I feel some joy at the same time. I hate that nothing is pure and simple and clear-cut. I hate that I have to go to the ophthalmologist to get a new lens Rx since I am going blind from working @ the computer 8-10 hours per day.

    Comment by Charles D Miller | March 1, 2011

  3. I hate that I had to pay out $1000 in taxes, in the one year when I thought I had a shot at a refund. Screw you for reducing witholding, Obama!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 1, 2011

  4. I hate the many google calendar invitations I get intended for people other than me. The latest: an invitation to a bunionectomy.

    Comment by ben | March 1, 2011

  5. Invitation to a Bunionectomy was Nabokov’s first choice.

    Comment by ben | March 1, 2011

  6. Seriously, $1000.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 1, 2011

  7. My dog just fooped right by my arm. It just about destroyed me. I hate foop.

    Comment by William | March 1, 2011

  8. “foop”?

    Comment by ben | March 1, 2011

  9. I don’t know what foop is, but I hate it.

    I hate that my wife and I complained mildly about our return being a little less than expected, and then I saw Adam had to PAY $1000.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | March 1, 2011

  10. Foop=fart+poop. Just like shart. I won’t go into the details about exactly what happens when my dog does this but lets just say…if Satan himself farted, it would not smell worse.

    Comment by William | March 2, 2011

  11. Is he on clavamox?

    Comment by Craig | March 2, 2011

  12. no

    Comment by Willie | March 4, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

