The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: After this our exile

I confess that I just taught my last two class sessions at Kalamazoo College. (I have posted my reflections on my teaching experience there elsewhere.) I confess that this is a sad moment for me.

I confess that I am weirdly grateful to have the packing process to keep my mind busy and that I believe I have come up with a really good method: start with all the random/marginal stuff like junk drawers or the closets where you’ve randomly thrown stuff from the last move. The benefit is that when you’re tired from doing all the main packing, you won’t have a seemingly endless list of petty things you randomly have to find room for. I also confess that I’m grateful to K College for the great moving boxes they bought me last summer and that I intend to keep them for as long as their physical integrity allows.

I confess that I still have hope that I’ll find a position for next fall and that if I don’t, it won’t be the end of the world.

March 11, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess that I too still have hope for Adam.

    I confess that I successfully installed a new motherboard in my desktop computer, one of the most involved hardware upgrades I’ve ever been involved with. I confess that I was nearly convinced that the ethernet connection wasn’t working, but it turned out that the connector simply wasn’t all the way through the IO shield. I confess further that I was very impressed with the ease of removing, and then installing again, the heat sink on the CPU; the last time I had to do anything like that it was significantly more involved.

    I confess that yesterday I printed out a copy of one of my chapters so that I could read it over and mark it up for reorganization and whatnot but then I left it at school. I confess that I am treating this as far more of a blow to my possible productivity than it really is.

    I confess that Mark Johnston’s book about G-d seems pretty interesting.

    Comment by ben | March 11, 2011

  2. I also confess that the Tree Style Tab extension for Firefox is the best.

    Comment by ben | March 11, 2011

  3. i confess i’ll go home around 10pm, this assay is continuing so long, should have started it earlier if could concentrate, but that was impossible this morning

    Comment by read | March 11, 2011

  4. i confess my assay worked well which means i don’t have to do the RI one, good

    Comment by read | March 11, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

