The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday (On Time!)

Yet another slow week!

“Fringe.” Two comparatively uninteresting episodes in a row, which does not bode well for the future of this show. The “soul magnet” connecting Spock’s soul to Olivia’s body is either completely brilliant or the sign of a decadent show past its prime. For the time being, I’m going with the latter. After all, the actress playing Oliva had trouble playing two versions of herself: how the hell is she going to pull off Spock-in-a-woman’s-body?

“Breakout Kings.” The new opening to the show is, perhaps, the most embarrassing opening I’ve ever seen. The “live tweet” of the show was rather disappointing, although Herc made a good show of it (including re-tweeting one of Blythe’s tweets, but also personally replying to nearly every show-related tweet). I don’t know what a T-Bag is, but apparently he’s on the show next week: to me, he’s just the bad guy from “Transporter 3” and looks like the white supremacist (but isn’t) in “Death Race.”

I’m pretty sure that Jessie J’s “performances” on SNL gave me herpes of the eye. I’m immensely disappointed to learn that she wrote “Party in the USA,” which is probably one of the best songs ever recorded by anyone.

(P.S. Happy birthday Blythe and Coco.)

March 17, 2011 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

8 Comments

  1. I wish I could better contribute to this series, but almost all of my TV viewing is DVR backlog so the shows I’m watching are from three or more weeks ago.

    The only shows I usually watch “as they happen” are Bob’s Burgers and Wipeout when I happen to be watching TV and it’s on. Bob’s Burgers because it makes me laugh out loud once or twice an episode (but oddly is only good for a chuckle or two otherwise) and Wipeout because a part of me still enjoys slapstick, physical humor I suppose.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | March 17, 2011

  2. I haven’t really watched any TV since my move. I’m planning on getting a Roku as an alternative to cable and would appreciate any remarks people have about this — but for now, grading and other priorities have put my TV addiction on hold.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 17, 2011

  3. I use a Roku as an alternative to cable (and an alternative to hooking my computer up to my TV, or setting up some kind of XBMC media center which I no longer have the patience to do after an attempt at Boxee on my old Apple TV.) I even get the Hulu Plus. I also enjoy using the vimeo channel and, since I have my TV hooked into my stereo, the Pandora app as well.

    My media setup consists of paying for Netflix and Hulu Plus and then feeling less bad about the occasional torrent. Ethical philosophy in action!

    Recent TV viewing included the first part of the two-part season 4 finale of House. Despite requiring an enormous suspension of disbelief to follow House into his magically quick hypnotic states, it proved affecting far beyond measure and led to us going outside and breathing in the night air and the nematodal marigold for a while.

    Comment by k-sky | March 17, 2011

  4. Maybe we should try to watch some adult cartoons and old Aaron Sorkin shows so that you might provide television commentary that better resonates with this readership.

    Comment by Blythe | March 17, 2011

  5. Sorry, dear, but we aren’t watching no whiskey tango tv like “American Dad” or “The West Wing.” I’ll take “King of Queens” reruns before that.

    Comment by Craig | March 17, 2011

  6. Soon there will be a new Aaron Sorkin show!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 17, 2011

  7. Well, there’ll be new Ron Moore and Eric Kripke shows. What’s missing from you life, Adam, is robots and magic. Where’s the whimsy?

    Comment by Craig | March 17, 2011

  8. This is possibly the best thing I’ve ever seen on the TV-related-internets.

    Comment by Craig | March 17, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

