The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Judgment Week

I confess that The Girlfriend and I went to see Heddatron, a kind of adaptation of Hedda Gabler featuring robots. We both recommend it highly, and now I confess that I’m worried The Girlfriend might leave me for a robot.

I confess that I’ve spent the whole week doing little other than passing judgment. I’ve evaluated conference paper proposals for an AAR program group for which I’m on the steering committee, wrote a peer review report, responded to student drafts and proposed paper topics, and of course graded. I confess that a significant number of my students, particularly those I’ve had for multiple classes, seem to have improved their writing in more or less the ways I’ve asked them to, which is a satisfying experience.

I confess that aside from assessing things, my main task for the week has been cleaning the apartment. I confess, though, that I haven’t swept and mopped, both because the floors look fine and because the dog’s shedding makes it hard to sweep well enough to avoid getting those little stringy things on the mop. The Girlfriend has suggested getting around this problem by periodically vacuuming The Dog himself, and studies indicate that he’s not afraid of the vacuum, so maybe it would work.

March 18, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

8 Comments

  1. i confess i celebrated my first pi-ship with a samuel adams boston ale and slept until the morning w/o interruption, perhaps one beer before sleep could improve my sleeping habits this week, but afraid i’ll get like addicted then pretty easily so decided to have a beer every other night or just when i recall

    Comment by read | March 18, 2011

  2. i confess i haven’t seen any tv and any of the videos of the Japanese quake and tsunami this week b/c if i watched worrying could become unmanageable perhaps

    Comment by read | March 18, 2011

  3. Don’t vacuum the dog. Furminate him.

    I confess that I have reached Week 6 of the six-week hundred pushups program. I confess that it has been about 60 weeks since I started the program. I confess that I am in the middle of Week 6 of the ten-week Artist’s Way program. I confess that it has been 75 weeks since I commenced it.

    Comment by k-sky | March 18, 2011

  4. I confess I skipped my 2-mile run yesterday (part of a training program to run a 10K on 4/17) to go to the park with my wife so we could walk the dogs and take advantage of the 70 degree weather.

    I confess this was a good decison. Tonight, though, I have a 4.5 mile run and must get it completed in time for our book club meeting at 7:00 (don’t get home from work until 5:00). I confess pepperoni and salami on my sub for lunch may not have been a good decision since it will need to be a brisk run.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | March 18, 2011

  5. I confess to eating cheese and chocolate for lunch and topping off my fourth cup of coffee.

    I confess to having little to no self-control.

    Comment by ebolden | March 18, 2011

  6. I confess that meeting with my adviser makes me want to stay in academia. I ♥ my adviser.

    Comment by ben | March 18, 2011

  7. I confess I ate too much last night. It made me feel French.

    Comment by Guido Nius | March 20, 2011

  8. @Guido Nius
    [“I ate too much last night. It made me feel French.”]

    Sir, the only way to “feel French” in ‘eating issues’ is to ‘eat well’, not ‘eat too much’. Eating too much is a ‘speciality’ of other nations.

    Comment by grrl | March 20, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

