The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Big things

I confess that this weekend I had a campus visit that seemed to go well. I confess that I am disinclined to name the school in this public setting, though as I think about it the rationale behind that policy (which I have held to consistently since I started applying for jobs) is unclear to me. In any case, getting this job would be a very good outcome for more reasons than usual, so I’m hoping for the best. I confess that I also received word of being shortlisted for another position and have had some indications that decent, actually career-advancing teaching work might be available in the Chicago area as well, so perhaps I’m not completely doomed.

I confess that I have submitted all my Kalamazoo grades save for one student who is getting an incomplete for a good reason. Between that and the conclusion of my campus visit, I confess that I’m not sure what to do with myself. Some might suggest something along the lines of relaxing, but I’ve never been very good at that. I confess that I am glad to have one more paycheck in my future.

I confess that yesterday I completed a long-deferred repair of a piece of furniture. It wound up requiring a $3 bottle of wood glue and about ten minutes of work, so I feel dumb for putting it off so long. (I also confess that as I examine my repair, I don’t seem to have done a very good job and may find myself repairing it again in the near future.)

I confess that I have ordered a Roku box from Amazon, which should be arriving tomorrow. I confess that it costs as much as one month of cable, which I believe counts as “paying for itself.”

I confess that I am excited to be seeing Godspeed in concert on Monday evening.

March 25, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

9 Comments

  1. I confess that I found Godspeed to be somewhat disappointing in concert.

    Comment by ben | March 25, 2011

  2. I further confess that I’m disappointed by the paucity of confessions!

    Comment by ben | March 25, 2011

  3. i confess i bought a pair of shoes and the 1/10th of my imaginary friends remembered my birthday, that’s a pretty great achievement for me

    Comment by read | March 25, 2011

  4. Happy birthday, read!

    Comment by jms | March 25, 2011

  5. thanks,jms!

    Comment by read | March 25, 2011

  6. Many happy returns, read!

    Comment by grrl | March 26, 2011

  7. thanks, grrl! your abbreviation is almost the same with my sister’s, hers is the word “light” w/o vowels in my language, just with one r

    Comment by read | March 26, 2011

  8. I confess that my band is closing the show tonight at a cabaret called” the Candid Confessional.” I further confess that I am looking forward to saying, “I further confess” in my patter.

    Comment by josh k-sky | March 27, 2011

  9. I confess I read the title here as: Big Tits.

    Comment by Guido Nius | March 27, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

