The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

I was away for most of the week and only had intermittent internet access. My apologies to those of you who are literally dying to know what I watched these past seven days; in sum, two shows:

1. “Fringe.” Being yet another Olivia-centric episode (or, in this case, a Faux-livia-centric) episode, I did not find it especially compelling. I’m not sure how Walternet is opposed to experimenting with Cortexiphan on other children, but he’s happy to experiment on his own grandchild. Improbably, the show has been renewed.

2. “Prison Break.” We are just about done the first season and it is starting to drag along. I guess the first season is “breaking out” and the second season is “on the run.” Later seasons, I suspect, are sticking it to “The Company.” Anyway, I believe we have made it to episode 19 of the first season. I’m glad Haywire is in the mix again. I liked him the first time around. Sometimes the writing is not especially good. Warden: “I can’t believe it, but DOC has approved your petition to go see your son. I’ve never heard of this happening.” Really? They’ll try to kill him when he’s outside the prison? What a surprise. How long before the Doctor and Michael become “an item”? You should always listen to sassy black ladies on TV shows because they know stuff that white people can’t see.

March 31, 2011 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

2 Comments

  1. Some time ago I watched the whole season three of *Prison Break* on a single Saturday, which may have heavily contributed to the impression that I was watching one of the most bizarre things I have ever seen.

    If you keep watching until season three–which I recommend–, I’d suggest minimising your breaks between episodes, because thinking about what just happened is clearly detrimental to enjoying them. (Unless you think about them in just the right way, of course.)

    Comment by Olaf B | April 9, 2011

  2. I actually wound up watching much of season 3 in one day, too — I let it pile up on the DVR and then used it as a procrastination device. After the way that seasons 3 and 4 turned out, I wish I hadn’t. Better to keep the relatively good memories of 1 and 2.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 10, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

