The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Opposition to Thumbs

I confess that last night I accidentally sat on The Girlfriend’s hand while we were getting into a cab, in such a way as to severely strain her thumb. She is planning on going to a clinic this morning to have it checked out. I confess that I feel horrible, even though it was an accident. I confess that though this is easily the worst complication to arise, something normally does go wrong whenever we declare a night to be “date night.”

I confess that this week I have made rapid progress on my sociopath book and, contrary to my previous experience, have also been able to do a ton of reading while in writing mode — normally the two modes appear to be largely incompatible. I confess that one of the books I read was Jameson’s A Singular Modernity, and the night after I finished it, I dreamed that Jameson had continually referred to the theologian Paul Tillich (in fact he did not). That has to count as my most boring dream in years.

I confess that I received my last paycheck from Kalamazoo College this morning. I confess that I received my last teaching evaluations earlier this week and, like every other young teacher in the world, focused on the negative outliers rather than the overall consensus that I had done a good job. I confess that I somehow managed to save up a decent amount of money despite my ridiculous lifestyle of having two apartments, buying expensive Amtrak tickets every month, etc.

April 1, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

10 Comments

  1. i confess i’m glad march is over
    the hurt thumb sounds painful and i felt slight discomfort having imagined how it would have been painful like all morning
    i recalled reading palm readings that people who hold their thumbs very sticking out are that, pretty highly expressed individuals and like authoritarian, as opposed to the people who keep their thumbs hidden, they are like severe introverts

    Comment by read | April 1, 2011

  2. I confess I sometimes want to pinch read in order to prevent read sharing (at the wrong moment) read’s knowledge about thumb-characterology gained from palm reading.

    (While at it, read, are you a she-read or a he-read?)

    Comment by girl_visitor | April 1, 2011

  3. I confess that I easily become flustered by not at all complicated or important tasks, as well as by tasks that are important!

    I confess that the number and variety of smallish “pop-up” like monthly markets in San Francisco is kind of off-putting; I don’t really like, yet am susceptible to, the thereby created (felt) pressure to flaunt connoisseurship. One can’t simply enjoy food anymore; one has to keep up with all the little up-and-coming micro-establishments—it’s a god-damn job, but it’s expensive (or it would be if I actually attended these things rather than just feeling as if I should).

    I also confess that whenever I read about someone selling jam at one of these events, I wonder if their products are really any better than the jams I myself turn out.

    Comment by ben | April 1, 2011

  4. I confess that I went to a podiatrist but I think I misidentified the part of my toe that chiefly hurts. I confess that I hope I don’t have to wear some kind of horrible boot.

    Comment by ben | April 1, 2011

  5. I confess I’m scared shitless to move cross-country and that makes me feel old, crotchety, and settled in my ways.

    Comment by ebolden | April 1, 2011

  6. I confess that I am still on vacation. I confess that I decided that, since I didn’t really need a vacation as much as Mrs. K-sky, I would continue to do my push-ups and my morning pages, but I have done morning pages just twice and push-ups just once on this vacation.

    I confess that for a reading with the theme of “Fool Me Twice,” I have written a sonnet from the perspective of Charlie Brown lying on the ground considering Lucy’s football.

    I confess that I got stung in the neck by a bee. Exciting! I confess that the bee was stuck on me after stinging me, and I clobbered it to death with a water bottle. I must have looked a pretty picture, running around hitting myself in the neck.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 1, 2011

  7. i confess i’ve been to the pharmacy to buy selenium, so will see how quickly a cold sore will disappear, the mood is expected to be improved too
    i confess i’d find a guy interpreting palm readings a little strange

    Comment by read | April 1, 2011

  8. I confess that I have known a guy, now deceased, who was an excellent palm reader, in that as my impression was, he was able to intuit things quite sensitively about his client/subject through the medium of the palm reading. It occurred to me that the palm reading was a device merely, a way to focus the surface attention such that he could sense the particularities of the psyche of the one he was reading. It allowed as it were a communion in which a great deal of subconscious sharing took place.

    I confess that I was able to make Mrs. Grackle drop her pants to see the paint that I insisted covered her bottom, after she had dressed particularly carefully to go to a meeting. And I confess it was a nice way to start the day.

    Comment by grackle | April 1, 2011

  9. I confess I am glad to know now that read is a she, I would feel embarrassed to pinch a gentleman in order to prevent him sharing (at the wrong moment) his knowledge about thumb-characterology gained from palm reading.
    :-)

    Comment by grrl | April 2, 2011

  10. to be fair, once a buddhist monk read my palm in Nagoya i think, i was wandering their tourist attractions after attending the meeting, very enjoyable, or not, in Nagoya i almost got late to the airplane and i remember the date even, one year after 9/11
    so it was a quiet old style street and he told me i’m from faraway and a pretty nervous person, not sleeping well, all explained by too many small lines, it looked dry perhaps, then he said to drink a lot of water and wear some rings to enhance my future fortune, but nothing more specific
    i was kind of like disappointed b/c i too can tell between J&K&C and us and guess other SE Asians

    Comment by read | April 2, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

