The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: For sure it’s the valley of death

I confess that I haven’t been eating well of late and need to develop a healthier routine for lunch in particular. I confess that my efforts to get back in the swing of language maintenance have faced a major obstacle: I don’t just fail to do it every day, but I completely forget that I’ve resolved to work on it.

I confess that my sister is coming to visit this weekend and I’m not sure where to take her. I hope to convince her that the typical tourist destinations are a total pain in the ass and not worth it. I confess that most people are surprised when they learn I have a sister, as I apparently seem like an only child.

I confess that I am getting tired of confessing all the time. I will continue to do so, but I would love to find a replacement for myself.

April 8, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

19 Comments

  1. The typical tourist destinations in Chicago are pretty swell. Who doesn’t love the Bean? My Chicago time mostly consists of hanging out at my mom’s house, so I really don’t have a good nook-and-cranny tourist knowledge of the city. I loved the architecture boat tour, though.

    Great Lake Pizza is pretty awesome though I don’t know if it counts as a tourist destination, even an atypical one. Mmm so good.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 8, 2011

  2. All that by way of confession, especially the part where I don’t know things despite having been there a lot. “I confess Mmm so good” is maybe straining the form.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 8, 2011

  3. Great Lakes is a definite possibility, as it’s less than a block from our apartment.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 8, 2011

  4. I confess that for the first time in years I stayed up until the wee hours of the night painting. I confess that this action, more so than any other in recent memory, left me feeling peaceful, productive, and with a fleeting but strong sense of self-worth. Or maybe it was the Behemoth Barleywine buzz.

    Comment by ebolden | April 8, 2011

  5. I confess to feeling like crap for several weeks now.

    Comment by Hill | April 8, 2011

  6. I confess I’m about to make some bad decisions in my personal life.

    I confess it wouldn’t be the first time.

    Comment by jms | April 9, 2011

  7. I confess that I did something foolish while moderately drunk last night, but also that what I did is not as interesting as that description might make it sound.

    Comment by ben | April 9, 2011

  8. Hey ben, liveblog your moderately drunken foolishness next time, and I’ll liveblog my poor personal decisionmaking.

    Comment by jms | April 9, 2011

  9. I’d have to get a fancier phone to do that. The best I can do now is to live-SMS it.

    Comment by ben | April 9, 2011

  10. i confess i’m glad the scab on the skin above my upper lip is gone, it was pretty terribly debilitating ailment especially during the conference

    Comment by read | April 10, 2011

  11. ‘an’ ailment that tends to come out during the stressful times i confess
    i confess i slept yesterday 12 hrs so feel now like am able to turn the mountains, which are a review article and a review of an article
    one would think perhaps, how, with my english i guess, but they have the english editors i guess, so my part is the scientific analysis and the reviewing of the article is half anonymous, i mean peer

    Comment by read | April 10, 2011

  12. I confess I’m about to make some bad decisions in my personal life.

    Wow, I really delivered on this promise.

    Comment by jms | April 11, 2011

  13. :(

    Comment by ben | April 11, 2011

  14. Adam said he would deal with the autoconverted emoticon issue. I confess I’m disappointed in your follow through, Adam.

    Comment by jms | April 12, 2011

  15. I confess that Mrs. K-sky and I are positively slavering for details.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 12, 2011

  16. I confess that I changed the offending setting.

    I confess that Josh’s references to Leigh, who is apparently not Mrs. K-sky, remind me of my own situation of having many female friends. The Girlfriend and I were out with another couple and I mentioned that I’d seen Adjustment Bureau with one of those friends, and the couple was surprised and impressed at how mature and non-jealous The Girlfriend was, etc. The next day, chatting with the woman from the couple (who was of course my initial friend), she reiterated this point, and I confess that I said that it was really nice that The Girlfriend was okay with me having female friends, because “it’s a great way for me to sleep with a wider range of people.”

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 12, 2011

  17. I confess that everytime I see this subtitle, the beginning of Gangsta’s Paradise runs through my head for a minute.

    Comment by jms | April 12, 2011

  18. 16 is awesome & I may have to incorporate it into my own personal apologetics.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 12, 2011

  19. At my old baseball blogs, I used to have to avoid having an eight before my closing parentheses or it would say something like “(April ERA, 3.1(smiley face)”. It was particularly annoying when it was in the post’s title.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | April 13, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

