The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred Manufactured with Powerful Steam Machinery

I hate that a person with whom I spoke on the telephone regarding employment basically as much as admitted that the company he represented was targeting the experienced-but-underemployed (for a position that anyone with experience would not, in ordinary circumstances, stoop to consider). I hate the prevalence of illegal internships and the blatancy with which obviously illegal internships are advertised on job boards. This is, alas, probably not an area in which plaintiffs’ attorneys can expect to make a mint. (It’s obviously out of the question that anyone from the relevant governmental agencies would bother enforcing their regulations.) I hate that I am becoming a crank. I hate that the foolish action alluded to earlier did not turn out not to be foolish but was, rather, confirmed in its foolishness.

It hardly even seems worth alluding (much less outright referring) to political events

April 12, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

4 Comments

  1. I hate hoping for the best and being paralyzed with abject terror over the worst.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 12, 2011

  2. I hate that I’m supposed to run in a 5-person marathon relay Sunday and two people on my team who I don’t know haven’t registered. The late fee for late registration is a team fee so these two will either have to pony up $75/person or I’ll have to throw in extra. I also hate that running in the Pennsylvania hills this weekend seems to have tweaked my knee so even if I get the chance to run Sunday, it’s probably going to be quite painful – maybe during and after.

    I hate that there’s a person in the office who whistles the same damn atonal tune every day as she’s walking around. It’s three notes that don’t seem to be from any particular song.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | April 12, 2011

  3. the muscle fatigue after running is a very strange feeling, not pleasant, not painful yesterday i was feeling muscle ache all over the muscles even seemed between the ribs, i was to hyperDs some muscle dystrophic disorder then i recalled my maraphon carrying samples from our floor to the second floor cz our -80 fridge got broken, so slight exercise and i felt so exerted which i hate of course

    Comment by read | April 12, 2011

  4. I hate the feeling that my Improv 201 class show at UCB is going to be terrible beyond words as everyone in the class seizes up with the inability to process the vast array of concepts we’ve been saddled with.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 12, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

