The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Beautiful boredom

I confess that this week, I read The Pale King within three days. I confess that when I started, it was evident to me that all non-essential priorities would have to be put aside until I was finished. I recommend it highly and suspect that, if completed, it would have easily been better than Infinite Jest.

I confess that The Girlfriend and I often go to bed very early, as though we were old people. My 13-year-old self, for whom staying up late was a virtualy moral imperative, would be ashamed. I confess that we also wake up very early, and in fact she has to for work.

I confess that this week, I spent a great deal of energy planning for and around bad news that I expected to receive and ultimately did not.

April 15, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

8 Comments

  1. i confess i feel the need to say here our proverb “sukh(the axe) dalaital(until gets waived) ukher (a cow) amar (is calm) ”
    with the daylight lasting longer the days seem to last very long which i don’t like about the spring and it’s very admirable that one changes one’s sleep habits for the sake of another, bc that’s a very fundamental thing to change and the most difficult cz they say it’s in the genes

    Comment by read | April 15, 2011

  2. I confess that Mrs. K-sky and I both sleep in as much as possible, which is very much as we both work at home. I confess that I used to get up at the perfectly reasonable weekday hour of sevenish, but recently have been sliding into the nine o’clock hour. At least Mrs. K-sky still wakes up to catch an early train once or twice a week. Me, I’m ruined.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 15, 2011

  3. Does that mean you didn’t receive the bad news or that you received good news in lieu of the bad news? I usually don’t get up until the early afternoon and often go to bed when many people are starting to rise. I’d likely sleep through the whole day if not for having to show up on campus from time to time and the fact that the grocery store only stays open until nine.

    Comment by Craig | April 15, 2011

  4. there was a study, maybe people have seen it on msnbc which they were arguing like questionable that the night owls are more like intellectual, higher IQ people while the early birds are generally healthier
    so if the night owls would start to wake up earlier they could become healthier perhaps, win-win, if the opposite is true or not, have no idea, i mean the early birds staying longer at night and becoming smarter, but unhealthier is for sure

    Comment by read | April 15, 2011

  5. start waking up would sound nicer perhaps

    Comment by read | April 15, 2011

  6. I confess that my right foot is imprisoned in an orthopedic boot. I confess that it is very difficult, when operating the many straps with which it is equipped, to find the “sweet spot” between cutting off circulation to my extremities and allowing too much freedom of movement for the boot to be any use.

    I confess that I was delighted when I read all the places the handicapped parking placard I obtained yesterday entitles me to park: streets where normally one needs a neighborhood permit! metered spaces—without paying! Time-limited green-marked zones, without a time limit! Spaces otherwise reserved for merchants! In addition, of course, to the handicapped spaces themselves.

    Comment by ben | April 15, 2011

  7. What did you specifically like about the book, Adam?

    Comment by Kylie | April 16, 2011

  8. I liked the things one typically likes about David Foster Wallace.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 20, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

