The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: April snow showers

I confess that yesterday, instead of working on a paper I’ll be presenting in a few days, I took a nap and then watched Trailer Park Boys. It’s all part of my holistic writing process.

I confess that I ran out of cereal yesterday and will therefore be having a brownie for breakfast today, solely out of grim necessity.

I confess that I keep on failing to learn my lesson when it comes to reading comments on my Inside Higher Ed articles. The bigger the site, the less useful the comments are — or more accurately, the more likely that they’re going to be a space for readers to vent (which is useful to them!) rather than actually discuss in good faith. I confess that good-faith discussion is much more difficult and rare than one would think, given the value our society supposedly places on it.

I confess that I wake up with The Girlfriend every morning, because I usually can’t get back to sleep once she starts getting ready. As a result, my internal clock is now set to wake up at six o’clock in the morning — even on weekends. My body also expects to go to sleep a little over eight hours before that wake-up time. I’ve never been much of a night-owl, but sometimes it feels ridiculous.

I confess that I am still looking for a replacement confessor. Please e-mail me at akotsko at gmail dot com if you are interested.

April 22, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

5 Comments

  1. i confess i am invited to the Easter Sunday dinner by my friends and am going to drive behind their car, so it would be a great practice for me going other places, cz it’s becoming a bit stale routine home-work, work-home
    i also confess i’d suggest a great candidate for the FAC column, JE! the confessions will be then more politico-economically charged i guess or Jms, cz I remember I enjoyed her MM reviews, but FAC w/o AK would feel different, and if one feels like that, there is nothing wrong with a little hiating, i guess

    Comment by read | April 22, 2011

  2. I do confess that I would like to be Adam’s replacement confessor. That being as it may, I won’t e-mail Adam & I will try to convince myself that it is because I wouldn’t be able to post regularly.

    I confess I already failed at said trying.

    Comment by Guido Nius | April 23, 2011

  3. I was “carded” yesterday buying a product that required me to be 19. Evidently to this 21 year old, I looked 18 or younger.

    Comment by Craig | April 23, 2011

  4. twitter’s feed says – Early to bed & early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy & wise. -English proverbs
    nice

    Comment by read | April 23, 2011

  5. i confess i meant to share this from fb feed in the morning, so cute and cheering especially when the day is grey and long

    Comment by read | April 23, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

