The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

What Is This Thing Called Tuesday Hatred?

I hate stress, tension, uncertainty which engenders both of these, cowardice (in myself) and cravenness (in others), not fear but the fearful (thereby also figured as the hateful). I hate—I hate. I hate my foot’s state and I hate the fact that my powerful leg broke one of the straps on the boot I am condemned to wear, rendering it rather unuseful. I hate dealing with unicode. I hate the fact that I seem to be slowing down in my dissertating, even though the end is in sight. (I swear, it is!)

I recently re-read the paper I’ve been using this year as my writing sample and while I’m pleased that I still agree with it I marvelled at what seemed to be the unusual lucidity of the writing—as opposed to the clotted prose I’m currently turning out. Ah, me! Ah, my!

I recorded something else I hate elsewhere. I hate, too, that many Joe Frank shows are vitiated by the quick recourse he has to kind of superficially treated existentialistic themes. Frequently he’s able to save himself by, at the last minute, diverting his discussion into something totally absurd, but sometimes that doesn’t happen, and sometimes, too, one gets the impression that these saving moments are appended to, but don’t really undermine as one would like them to, those which precede.

April 26, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

13 Comments

  1. i hate autoimmune and idiopathic diseases, everything else in life is manageable somehow

    Comment by read | April 26, 2011

  2. I hate that I commonly find myself thinking, “Oh, damn right this is going on my Tuesday Hatred comment” at some point during the week only to discover when Tuesday rolls around that I’ve completely forgotten what I so detested.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | April 26, 2011

  3. I hate that it’s coming on a year since I started writing this pilot. It could be so good, if it were good.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 26, 2011

  4. I hate it when the only seat available is next to a man who is sitting with his legs splayed out, and I hate it even more that men who sit like that in the first place almost invariably refuse to retreat into their half of the seat when someone sits next to them. I refer to this tendency as “swollen-balls syndrome.”

    I hate hangovers, in particular the following effects: headaches, fatigue, stomach upset, and the feeling that water is somehow too harsh to drink. I hate it when I lay down sensible rules for myself — for instance, never to go to a second location when drinking with a particular friend — and then don’t follow them.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 26, 2011

  5. I have experienced on many an occasion the same phenomenon noted by Matt in Toledo, except in my case I forget about what I’m going to put in the post.

    Comment by ben | April 26, 2011

  6. I hate bad dreams, especially the kind that put you in mortal danger or leave you anxious, and the inability to fall back asleep after you’ve awaken from one. I hate that this sleeplessness in turn amplifies the noise of the busy street outside your window.

    Comment by ebolden | April 26, 2011

  7. it’s believed if one’d sleep with a rosary (erkhi) under the pillow, one won’t dream any vivid/bad dreams

    Comment by read | April 26, 2011

  8. The idea of sleeping with a rosary under your pillow for some reason reminds me my dad used to tell my brothers that if they were bad, the devil would be sitting at the foot of their bed when they woke up. I’m not sure he realized the terror – and lost sleep – this caused boys receiving an old school Catholic education.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | April 27, 2011

  9. But read, won’t I then dream of Jesus? Is it really worth the trade off? Maybe I’ll learn to master the whole water to wine thing…hmmm. Something to consider.

    Comment by ebolden | April 27, 2011

  10. it usually works though i don’t use pillows, but last night it didn’t work for some reason and i watched a horrible horrible dream, too horrible and vivid to tell here but i will, sorry, so a crowd of people were holding and blaming me as if i was a serial killer upon finding some body parts in the bags, digging and finding, and this very unsure feeling whether i really did the deed or not, god that was horrible to feel self in the shoes of the serial killers, so the dream was caused by a boiled egg i ate too late and reading the news and by this particular video too i guess cz the same kind of bags figured in the dream too and too impressionable people shouldn’t watch it, the clip

    Comment by read | April 27, 2011

  11. and i hate sure that ytb includes this kind of clips in my “recommended for you” videos

    Comment by read | April 27, 2011

  12. i’m not very religious, a bit superstitious,yes but my rosary is great, a gift from my sister, made from amethysts, so i forget to use them directly and instead of a prayer i would often find myself just counting the beads, so just to use it somehow i put it beside when i sleep to prevent this kind of nightmares which occur not that often, last time was almost two months ago, some insects dream

    Comment by read | April 27, 2011

  13. god i re-watched the video and there is no bags, only trays, then i don’t know what caused my dream, but the feeling was pretty similar with the watching those samples

    Comment by read | April 27, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

