The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: With pizza on a bagel…

I confess that I got a job in Chicago. That effectively means that I have no large-scale problems in my life currently.

I confess that my rule of thumb during grad school was that one out of the three areas of money, academic success, and relationships had to be screwed up at any given point, yet that no longer holds true. The main potential problem — how to get by between the end of my Kalamazoo contract and the beginning of the new one — looks like it will not be a problem in practice. I have a solid and very satisfying relationship. In addition to the academic success represented by the job, I continue to have great opportunities in terms of my research and writing. What’s more, it looks like this trifecta will persist indefinitely.

I confess that this unaccustomed contentment has led me to actively seek out things to worry about. The main candidate has been flagging sales for Awkwardness, but those concerns are hard to take seriously for very long — I’ve sold more than enough for the publisher to break even, I’ll make some amount of money from it, and I already have a contract for the sequel. I’m going to keep trying to promote it, but what more was going to happen, realistically? I’ve also worried about traffic at AUFS, but the time-tested method of “posting more” has led to traffic more in line with expectations. Other than that, all I have left is seasonal allergies, and those haven’t been too bad outside of one day.

I confess that this is partly why I’m trying to recruit a new confessional writer — my upbeat optimism is totally contrary to the spirit of this weekly exercise. People say that The Weblog stopped being any good once I became happier (roughly when I started the PhD, which shows what a low point I was starting from), and now that I’ve reached the best state I can reasonably expect, I confess that the only way to save The Weblog is to get rid of me as a main-page poster altogether.

My co-bloggers have done so much to make The Weblog what it is today. Can you, potential confessor, really sit back and let my happiness destroy all that? Look into your heart. Look into your soul. Look into the heart part of your soul (which I guess is like a ghost, in this imagery? And includes all the organs?). You know you want to lead the internet in confession. You know you long to take over the longest-running uninterrupted weekly blog feature in the entire world.

April 29, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

8 Comments

  1. i confess i am very happy for AK doing good and i am watching the royal wedding during the secondary ab incubation, so no guilt
    i confess GN seemed already stepped up and i endorse his candidature if my vote counts
    i confess i’m on the verge of *hiating* my internet presence during the summer cz the things are kinda like requiring it

    Comment by read | April 29, 2011

  2. Guido said he wanted to replace me but wasn’t actually going to volunteer to do so. If I misunderstood, I’d be happy to let him take over — or indeed, have some kind of collective take over, as long as it wouldn’t create a lot of administrative overhead for me.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 29, 2011

  3. I confess that I am partly responsible for the flagging sales of Awkwardness, but for sound financial reasons, and will soon be responsible for the inevitable boom in them.

    I confess that I deliberately made it look on social networks like I was totally and successfully ignoring the Royal Wedding in favour of working, when in fact I was flicking through photos of dresses.

    Comment by RobDP | April 29, 2011

  4. I confess that I, too, am responsible for flagging sales of Awkwardness, inasmuch as my purchasing of Awkwardness has fallen off by 100%. Though I did recommend it too a writer whose work I believe, has related to it, so maybe I will restore my contribution.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 29, 2011

  5. I confess that university administrators can really piss me off. I start an intensive course on Monday (the whole week; 9-3) which is organized around movies–you know, actually watching movies!–and I have twenty-two students. This is what they did: they put me in a room that fits sixteen people and the room has absolutely no media technology in it–no computer, no DVD, no projector, no screen, nothing. Just a chalkboard. I only found this out today (roughly 5PM). It’s going to be a fucking boring course if we stare an empty blackboard for two hours and then discuss what we saw.

    Comment by Craig | April 29, 2011

  6. I confess that I’m a long-time infrequent reader, and one-time poster. I’d volunteer to take over, but my life is so boring/meaningless, it’d kill the entire blog.

    Comment by Toby P | April 30, 2011

  7. strange, i can post on the internets only when i’m in a relatively lighter mood, if i feel myself miserable i just don’t want to communicate with anybody, that is different with people must be

    Comment by read | April 30, 2011

  8. I confess I’m surprised I’m even considered. I confess that may make me feel a bit better about myself than is healthy for this weekly feature. But I have a lot of sin in me so it seems likely I will be emailing akotsko [at] gmail [dot] com.

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 1, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

