The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Continence

I hate it when one feels knocking at one’s back door, as it were, excremental masses to which one cannot give an outlet, because one is, for instance, walking down the street, or driving. Partial relief in such cases can be found by loosening one’s belt (or, depending on where one is, outright unbuttoning one’s pants) but the effect is of limited duration; soon enough the urgent stuff has adjusted to its slightly changed circumstances and renewed its pleas to be let out. What’s worse, when finally one does reach a location where one can yield to one’s inner demands, it often isn’t even a very satisfying experience.

I hate that at this late date I am still finding things out that I should have known or seen much earlier about my dissertation, resources it can draw on, how the task should be prosecuted, etc.

I hate that my foot continues to be fucked up.

May 3, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

8 Comments

  1. I hate that my left arm has been kind of fucked up the last few days. I suspect that I overextended it trying to scratch my back, as evidenced by the fact that it feels fine when I do everyday motions but (sometimes) really hurts when I move my arm in less stereotyped ways. Last night I believe I succeeded in not sleeping on my left side, which was actually pretty difficult and miserable to pull off (as my normal practice is to alternate throughout the night) and which doesn’t seem to have helped that much.

    At least I have something concrete to feel anxious about now, though!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 3, 2011

  2. I’ll check back periodically so read can tell me which degenerative muscle disease I probably have.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | May 3, 2011

  3. i hate to observe that any satisfaction is like kinda like slightly off-putting and dissatisfying, but i feel that mostly with meals and other physiological urges that require feedup, not release
    i suggest to use ibuprofen, fish oil and vit B complex with some local massage for the neuralgia, but i remember when i told so to my former coworker when he was suffering from a
    backache he said he likes his pain cz it feels like sweet to him

    Comment by read | May 3, 2011

  4. we say helj irexgui hiisch irne – about disease -that it comes not telling but like the wind flying, though in reality the symptoms start one by one and gradually and if one is aware, it’s really telling
    still it’s better to not predict bad things to happen and try to think always on the better side,
    it’s about my tendency to over Ds things, very
    worrisome to self

    Comment by read | May 3, 2011

  5. I hate that I’ve become totally psyched about by the prospect that my bicycle seat will cause impotence. I suppose the thing to do would be buy a special bicycle seat, but that kinda feels like the terrorists have won.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | May 3, 2011

  6. i hate somebody’s perfume coming through the air conditioning i guess, sometimes it smells the cafeteria food to which i object too or the freshly cut grass which i enjoy

    Comment by read | May 3, 2011

  7. I hate the fact that Routledge’s reissues in paperback of The Concept of Mind and The Phenomenology of Perception don’t retain the pagination of the original issues.

    Comment by ben | May 3, 2011

  8. Good toiletry at maximum 1 mile intervals is one of the universal human rights.

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 4, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

