The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Wednesday Food: As the present now Will later be past

Today marks the first day of the first leg of my journey west.  I’m keeping it short, with a summary of my week in food…

Best dish prepared: Curried pearl barley– this recipe, replacing couscous with barley.

Best dish purchased: Silken tofu lemongrass soup– I ordered this at a cafe downtown and was completely blown away– very unique– rich in body, light in flavor.

Biggest surprise: big beer in small places— Carbondale, Illinois, I’m looking at you.

Bane of my existence: Gwyneth “I literally do not have time to bathe” Paltrow– creepily adorns the cover of this month’s Bon Appétit.  She published her debut cookbook, My Father’s Daughter, which has induced much smacking of heads to walls.  For example, she notes that Vegenaise is her most used and well loved ingredient and, only a few, minimalist, glossy pages later declares, “I’m not sure how healthy bacon is in general, but I know it’s incredibly delicious.”  The author accounts for how much pressure she is under as an actress, blogger, normal mother, and wife with one charming anecdote– “one evening when I had my wood-burning stove going I realized I hadn’t thought of dessert.”   A near miss, Gwynnie!  I’ll say it for one and all, let someone anyone else write the books, take a night off from GOOP, and go have a shower.

What food/ beer/ wine/ eye-rolling, dear readers, constituted your week?

May 18, 2011 - Posted by | Wednesday Food

5 Comments

  1. i fried a frozen egg yesterday, that was the only culinary attempt of this week, there was a link on food cravings and how to supress them zen like, in the NYT’s feed i guess on FB and i thought how lucky i don’t have any food cravings

    Comment by read | May 18, 2011

  2. this one and i thought so if food cravings are reduced this way, all other cravings could be too, perhaps

    Comment by read | May 18, 2011

  3. I browned some short ribs then braised them with wine, chicken stock, and aromatic herbs and vegetables. Towards the end of their cooking I sautéed some shiitake mushrooms and added them to some chicken stock to cook up some quinoa, then sautéed some bacon, poured off most of the fat, and cooked some peas and asparagus in what remained (along with the bacon itself, of course). When all that was done I added the meat to the bacon-veggie mixture along with the strained an defatted braising liquid.

    And that’s what I had for dinner for about four days running.

    Comment by ben | May 19, 2011

  4. read, a frozen fried egg? ben, nom.

    Comment by ebolden | May 20, 2011

  5. Hello — I’ve been a semi-long-time reader of AUFS, and occasional peruser here. First time commenting here.

    I made what that temptress Nigella calls a “Squink” (squid + squid ink) risotto, for the first time.

    Was my first time working personally with squid, and I was particularly proud I figured out how to extract the squid ink without permanently blackening my whole kitchen or clothes.

    For the squid prep and flavor profile, I got some inspiration from this recipe.

    I basically made a marinade of diced red chili, garlic, ginger, olive oil, and lemon and lime for the squid body and tentacles. Let that sit in the fridge while I cooked my risotto. After the wine went into the risotto, cut the ink sacs and poked behind the eyes, and drizzled the ink over the rice, with a few drops into my stock. Just lightly sauteed the marinated squid, added some parmesan and parsley, and voila — it was awesome.

    Comment by Scott Prather | May 20, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

