The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Pouring Hateraid on the Wolf

I hate that after years of noble service, Ben Wolfson entertains thoughts of giving up the mantle of Tuesday Hatred. Indeed, so low was his motivation level today that he blew off his deep responsibilities altogether, leaving me to pick up the pieces.

Now, brave Webloggians — who will pick up where he has left off? Who has the fortitude to register petty complaints and create a safe space for others to share theirs? Anyone? Anyone?

As for me, I hate the listless boredom that often attends long holiday weekends during the summer. I also often hate Sundays, though to a lesser degree now than in prior years. I hate computers and other electronic devices that fail to obey me adequately. I hate that The Girlfriend faces an excessive workload for the next two weeks. I hate that The Dog’s reactions to other dogs are so random and unpredictable — sometimes he ignores them entirely, other times he goes so crazy as to be embarrassingly difficult to control. I hate being addicted to the internet. I hate that E. Bolden is moving away.

May 31, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

11 Comments

  1. let me be first to suggest stras as the most persistent in various hatreds which is a very noble quality per person i guess
    i hate i had to rewrite this amendment to the iacuc protocol 3-4 times and i hate the heat 93 degrees F

    Comment by read | May 31, 2011

  2. I hate.

    But turning into an affect by directing my hate toward an object only reduces my subjectivity and creates a dialectic in which my hate itself becomes an object and I thus become alienated from both myself and my hate. It becomes something I do rather than something I am.

    So I just hate. A lot.

    Comment by bob mcmanus | May 31, 2011

  3. could be BMcM too, though the original THs are surely something unique and great and uplifting it’s a pity that it feels like everybody is leaving :( though sure “new” people are coming to blog but then it becomes something different though sure perhaps equally great in some adjustment time

    Comment by read | May 31, 2011

  4. I hate moving. I hate that with 11 occurrences in under 8 years I’m not better at it. I’m worn through.

    Comment by ebolden | May 31, 2011

  5. I hate writing RFP responses. I have no idea how long it will take me to do this undefined task! I have no comprehension of why my designer put in the rates he did! I’m just throwing noodles at the wall here! I suppose one gets better at it in time, but I suspect that I’m going to get this job and it’s going to be absurdly anxiety-provoking.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | May 31, 2011

  6. Please let me give due thanks to Adam for taking over the hating duties this week. It is not, I assure you, for lack of things to hate. I shall enumerate below those which may be breifly stated, then launch into a fuller exposition of one which deserves to be separated out a bit from the others.

    1. I hate how late I will dine tonight, owing to the long preparation my meal requires (and the meal must, owing in part to bad planning on my part and in part to the planning, neither good nor bad, of others, be prepared tonight).
    2. I hate, on the other hand, the fact that all day I have not felled the slightest bit hungry, but have rather felt full all day, even though I have eaten less than usual—today, anyway.
    3. When a dog-owner strides purposefully out with h/h pet, and the pet lingers a bit behind on the walk, and indeed lingers particularly near trees and other such environmental objects as dogs are accustomed to besprinkle with their urine, but is unable to relieve itself, either in whole or part, before its owner, who has not been attending to the plight of h/h dog, ineluctably drags said dog hence, by the action of the leash which binds the two together, the same sad event happening at the next piss-stand owing to the owner’s continued obliviousness—then I am overcome with hatred at the contemptible dog-owner.

    Those three may stand somewhat on their own. Now, I will relate a sad story, which has produced a hateful outcome.

    A friend of mine from my undergraduate days is a Ph.D. candidate at my current institution’s rival (in sports, anyway), and I have been to her home several times on various occasions, at which times I have not failed to note that the company included several of her fellow graduate students. One of them in particular I did not fail to note, but until recently this person has been partnered up, a state of affairs that continued until the last time I was at my friend’s home, in December of last year. However, this past Sunday my friend held a housewarming party, and I attended it, and so did this other person, who was unaccompanied, and we (as they say) fell to talking. She and a postdoc invited me to go out in the evening, after the party (though actually at the appointed time it was still in full swing), and I indicated that I found the prospect agreeable. However, I was also becoming, over the course of my approximately six and a half hours at the party, becoming extremely drunk, drunker than I had any reason to be (and I had reason, having turned in the final draft of my dissertation the previous day, to be at least somewhat drunk)—yea, so drunk that it seemed prudent to leave, and I did just that. And it seems that this much-noted-by-me person is moving across the country by the end of the week, likely never to be seen by yrs trly again.

    BALLS

    Comment by ben | May 31, 2011

  7. banzai, TH felt as if incomplete which seem like amended now
    otoh i hate unpartnered attractive grad students threathening to the regular schedule of my morning reading

    Comment by read | June 1, 2011

  8. Give it to bob. The hate is strong in that one and the freedom to express it once per week is a therapy that might be tried.

    I hate changes. Any.

    Comment by Guido Nius | June 2, 2011

  9. I hate I sprained my stupid fucking ankle.

    Comment by jms | June 2, 2011

  10. I hate changes. Any.

    Amen to that, brother.

    Comment by jms | June 2, 2011

  11. I somehow feel what could be called – in your terms – ‘hate’ that I am such a weak girl lacking the power to perform real, straightforward ‘hate’, a girl that always uses ‘I don’t like this,or that’, instead of ‘I hate this, or that’.

    Comment by grrl | June 3, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

