The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: The Glorious Return

I confess that I guess I volunteered to take back confessing duties? (Guido is apparently enjoying hating, which is good.) I confess that the discovery that I need to write this post could not have come at a better time, because I am indexing a book and am loath to start work on it today.

I confess that I am in solidarity with the financial tricks the Treasury department is doing to get around the debt ceiling, as I am in a similar fiscal crunch until my first paycheck at Shimer College. I was a master of such maneuvers in my grad school days, and now it feels like I’ve been reluctantly called upon to do “one last job.” I confess that I’m glad I had the good sense to start stockpiling my cash back rewards last year.

I confess that I was trying to get myself to stop caring about AUFS’s traffic, but I pulled out all the stops to try to end strong for June. My efforts were successful: the second-best month for all-time traffic, tied for second place in daily average. Tied for second was this February, which would have easily beaten this month if it had a normal amount of days in it — how long must February’s dignity be sacrificed to the dignity of Julius and Augustus Caesar?! January of this year remains our all-time record on both counts, for reasons I’m not sure of.

I confess that I bought some Chili Cheese Fritos as consolation for having to index this book. I confess that only the first couple handfuls really give you the blast of flavor that is the appeal of such products, and the end effect is that I feel run down and shitty after eating even a few of them. Naturally, I’ll probably finish them off this afternoon.

July 1, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

9 Comments

  1. I confess this is a most welcome surprise. I was about to make a Friday Evening Confessional, risking conflict with The Wife who had planned a family activity with The Kids (despite the fact that Daugter and Oldest Son did everything not to earn being indulged, we’re bad parents incapable of any punishment whatsoever).

    I confess that I was all loaded up mentally with confessions which I will turn into hatred or Saturday Satisfaction or what damned well pleases me. I confess that I was ever so close to express a metaphorical conclusion to this. I apologize.

    I confess I fear somebody will point to language errors in my comment.

    I confess that I am happy read is OK.

    Comment by Guido Nius | July 1, 2011

  2. I confess that I didn’t understand Adam’s public rationale for giving up the confessional: if more things are going well in his life, that may mean less to complain about, but it means more occasion for sin! At least, some of them.

    I confess that I bought some hipster jeans yesterday and I kind of love them.

    Comment by ben | July 1, 2011

  3. I confess that I was hoping for more comments on my post at unfogged about midnight in paris.

    Comment by ben | July 1, 2011

  4. I confess I’ve planned a vacation in Canada in August yet do not have a passport yet. I confess I’m not certain I’ll get it on time. I confess this makes me feel like an idiot since I’ve been handling planning this trip (on behalf of 3 or 4 couples) for the past month.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 1, 2011

  5. If you wait till you’re right down to the wire, you can go to the passport agency in Chicago (or another closer one — not sure where they all are).

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 1, 2011

  6. Thank you. I remember my brother doing exactly that before a trip to Brazil. Lucky for him, our other brother lived in Chicago.

    I think we may change venues instead of dropping nearly $500 on the expedited passports. I confess I’m considering lying to the other couples about this to save (some) face.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 1, 2011

  7. Lying is always a good option.

    Comment by Guido Nius | July 1, 2011

  8. I almost always consider lying.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 1, 2011

  9. I confess that I had written a comment on ben’s post but that my site blocker turned off the comment window before I could post it. I’ll get back in there.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 1, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

