The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Dilatory

I hate it when the Tuesday Hatred isn’t posted on time. I hate the complexities of using git (such as they are). I hate the fact that after seeming to be on the rapid mend, my precious tendon suffered a setback last week. I hate the amount of reading I seem to have taken on, and I also hate how difficult it is for me to just buckle down and do it (it doesn’t help at all that mostly I’m reading stuff I don’t particularly like). The difficulty of keeping up with “the literature”, this too I hate. The difference between the weather(s) in San Francisco and Palo Alto does not escape my odium, nor does the fact that there was apparently only one (1) week this entire summer that featured excellent strawberries. My overindulgence in foods over the past several days is something that I do not love. Has anticipation of the “job market” already caused me to become unhappy? Somewhat. My spirit is not that of one who jumps for joy when I think about the probable nature of my “love” “life” in the coming year.

July 12, 2011 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

11 Comments

  1. I hate when people immediately respond to something they think was funny by repeating verbatim what they just heard. I don’t know how to instantly tell if somebody has a good sense of humor, but I’m thankful to this practice for instantly letting me know somebody does not.

    I hate that I hurt my heel last Wednesday and feel it’s wise to let it heal 100% before resuming a running program. Between the injury and my schedule, I won’t be able to run again until Monday. I also hate that this injury happened on the FIRST DAY I had started a blog intended to be both a running journal and a journal of thoughts I have about/while running.

    I hate that I just got an email from Netflix telling me to continue to get unlimited streaming and unlimited DVDs (1 at a time), it will soon cost me $15.98 ($7.99 for each service) instead of the present $9.99. Of course, I hate more that we’ve had the same DVD from Netflix for 8 months (8! Seriously!) and I haven’t streamed a movie in 2 or 3.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 12, 2011

  2. I hate when people immediately respond to something they think was funny by repeating verbatim what they just heard.

    You must love Twitter.

    If Guido and ben both want to do the TH, who has to move to Avignon?

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 12, 2011

  3. It’s not that I want to do it, it’s that I want it to be done.

    Comment by ben | July 12, 2011

  4. I hate it when I need to apologiee. The Kids wanted to see X-men, The Wife wanted to take protective measure against the chimney falling down, I as always was a total whimp. Didn’t even like it. Must be mutant.

    Anyway the original is better.

    Comment by Guido Nius | July 12, 2011

  5. I hate the effect that recent news events have been having on my mental health.

    I hate that daily neti pot use may have backfired on me. At first it really, really helped — but then on bad allergy days, it would get uncontrollably unbearably bad. I skipped today and have been fine, after nearly dying yesterday.

    I hate the threat of insolvency that will be hovering over me for the remainder of the summer. I thought I had pulled out all the stops, but I may have to pull out the old “I’ll cover this on my card and you can give me cash” trick every time I go out for the next six weeks. Thank God the credit card companies love me more than my own parents do.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 12, 2011

  6. Oh, I can also cash in all my change at the grocery store!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | July 12, 2011

  7. I’m also as close to running out of money as I’ve ever been. I hate that.

    Comment by Hill | July 12, 2011

  8. Josh – I view retweets as something more like hearing a joke from one person and then telling the same joke to somebody else. What I’m talking about would be more like the equivalent of somebody retelling a joke by replying to all on a mass email.

    I was reminded of this hatred when we were watching trailers at the movies and three seats down, there was a guy who repeated every line he thought was funny to his friends. Luckily, he didn’t continue doing it during the actual movie.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 13, 2011

  9. Adam, you could just use the fiscal responsibility strategy advocated by the Republicans, and not pay your rent.

    On which note, I hate that my university pays for summer teaching in one payment at the end of the summer, rather than monthly. I sort of hate that I had so little confidence in getting a teaching job for the summer that I had already planned for not having any money, which does mean that this hateful payment policy isn’t such a pressing problem.

    Comment by voyou | July 13, 2011

  10. I’m always as close to being out of money as I’ve ever been and I get the distinct impression that the UC/CSU systems are the most fucked up university systems in the world. Glad that I never thought, in a flight of fancy, that I’d go to Berkeley for Rhetoric or something equally outrageous.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | July 13, 2011

  11. I get the impression that all US universities are pretty much fucked (except maybe the Ivies, IDK?), but the CSUs seem to be in even worse shape than the UCs. Though if SEK’s tales of horror about dealing with the administration at Irvine are representative, we may just be lucky at Berkeley.

    Thinking about it, applying for a summer job at all was a mark of my fiscal irresponsibility, as it was a revenue-based solution.

    Comment by voyou | July 13, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

