The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: The debt ceiling

I confess that last night I had the following dream. I was at a conference, and after I gave a paper, two friends came in and told me that there was a deal on the debt ceiling and it was all taken care of. I pulled out my laptop to look up what the deal was, and one of the friends stayed to read over my shoulder — but I couldn’t get any website to work. Finally my friend suggested we try to find a paper. We walked out into the torrential rain and found our way to a bookstore. I couldn’t figure out where they kept their newspapers, and then it occurred to me that if it was really recent, it wouldn’t be in the paper yet anyway — so I sat down and read a graphic novel, cover to cover. After a while, my friend said he couldn’t find their papers and we should try somewhere else, but I felt like I should buy the graphic novel… and while we were in line, who should show up in the bookstore but Senator Lindsey Graham. Obviously this was perfect, as we could just ask him! But he said there were two deals, only one of which he knew the details of, and he couldn’t guarantee he’d vote for either. And then I woke up.

So yeah, I confess not only that I had a dream about the debt ceiling, but that it featured Lindsey Graham.

July 15, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

3 Comments

  1. I confess I was a bit nervous the other day when I received an email from my supervisor with the subject line “Dissertation Chapters,” especially after APS’s problem with his dissertation prior to his defense. Although his comments were about three pages long–single spaced in ten point–they weren’t especially negative (first line of comments on chapter 1: “I like this, but…”; first line of comments chapter 2: “Again, I like this, but…”; first line of comments on chapter 3: “I like the argument, but…”). Indeed, with the exception of wanting another chapter, the comments amounted to (more or less) a dry-run through a defense (I think) being largely concerned with alternate interpretations and the like. He suggested (perhaps strangely) that I write on one of Grotius, Pufendorf or Winstanley. The third is an odd suggestion relative to the other two. Because I only owned one book from the three, I’ve started reading/writing on Pufendorf. Likely the first person in thirty years in the whole world to write a dissertation chapter on Pufendorf.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | July 15, 2011

  2. I confess that I am going to watch today’s stage of the Tour de France from start to finish. Before the start I’ll watch the rerun of yesterday’s post-stage analysis on a Dutch channel. After the finish I’ll watch the analysis on a French channel. Tonight I’ll watch the Tour in-depth show on a Flemish channel. Holiday is finally upon me. I confess that I won’t be thinking on any debt crises, nor will I explicate why Krugman was wrong. Next week I’ll be off to the land of dolce far niente where I will do just that.

    Comment by Guido Nius | July 16, 2011

  3. I confess that after planning to navigate Carmaggedon by bike, I learned that the stay-away campaign had been so successful that the roads were perfectly clear and I drove instead.

    I confess that I had thought about instituting the “Saturday Fun” but thought better of it.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 17, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

