The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Heat wave

I confess that on the first day of this world-historical heat wave, I laughed when I opened the back door and felt a blast of heat — it felt exaggerated. I confess that perhaps the most distressing aspect of the weather is the hot breeze.

I confess that I have not been practicing healthy eating habits this week. I confess that I’ve been having hot dogs for lunch, and last night I ordered pizza and watched one of the Futurama movies, because The Girlfriend had plans for the evening and I therefore needed to take advantage of the opportunity to behave like a “bachelor.”

I confess that part of my financial engineering to get me through to my first paycheck included “one last” balance transfer — but you always tell yourself every balance transfer is the last one, don’t you?

July 22, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess that sometimes when my adviser advises me to write a paper really nailing down an objection I make at (apparently) too brief length elsewhere, I’m baffled as to what exactly is lacking in what I’ve already written.

    I confess further that when I recently was invited to a bbq & pool party hosted by a religious student and her comparative litterateur boyfriend, among the attendees of which were several english students, all of whom are within one year of being in my cohort (and most of whom were in my precise cohort), and of whom it is true that all of the women are extremely attractive, I was once again moved to convict my twenties of having been entirely wasted, and under my own (non-)steam, too; shouldn’t I have been pursuing such persons as were after all right around me? How annoying (moreover) that my social life seems to be ramping up just as I am about to leave my fair city.

    I confess that sometimes (frequently!) I worry about my aptitude for philosophy, and that I’m incredibly stressed about a paper I unwisely agreed to give at a conference. Or rather, to write and then to give.

    Comment by ben | July 22, 2011

  2. I confess to being disappointed that the official Twitter account for the university where I teach did not retweet my comment about my new office. I’m pretty sure it is the best post I’ve ever made to my blog.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | July 22, 2011

  3. I confess that I went to an event at a home that appears in this month’s Bon Appetit.

    I confess that this is not my first acquaintance who has appeared in Bon Appetit.

    I confess that I am starting to dress more and more like my father. It’s the light two-tone shoes and the panama hat that cinch it.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 22, 2011

  4. Did I ever confess that I missed Mammoth & Mastodon, and am pleased by its return? No? Very well then, I confess it.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 24, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

