The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Sad sackitude

I confess that I’ve been a sad sack most of this week, and I attribute that to excessive internet time. Yesterday I exhibited remarkable self-control in that regard, and my outlook on life improved markedly.

I confess that my level of worry about the debt ceiling has decreased, for reasons that are unclear to me.

I confess that it’s less than a month until my classes begin.

July 29, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

11 Comments

  1. I confess that I derive far too much pleasure from positive responses to my comments, blog posts, tweets and Facebook statuses.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 29, 2011

  2. That’s a great comment, Matt.

    Comment by jms | July 29, 2011

  3. See, now you’ve sent me all atwitter.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 29, 2011

  4. I confess that, while I knew I had more books than I could shelve on the shelves that I have, I did not know that the excess was as large as it is.

    I confess that I find this video, along with parts 2 and 3, immensely entertaining.

    Comment by ben | July 29, 2011

  5. I wish I could derive a similar feeling of pleasure.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | July 29, 2011

  6. i confess congratulations with the bill on the debt ceiling significance of which i don’t know of course, but seemed AK really had been following the process very closely

    Comment by read | July 29, 2011

  7. i withdraw my comment since the bill they say was rejected by the senate, must be its true what al jazeera said, that no defaults or debt ceilings are the real matter but the tax increase for the rich and cuts to the social programs
    surely if the tax increase could solve the problem

    Comment by read | July 30, 2011

  8. should increase the tax i was saying and if the rich feel too bitter, cut the social aid too, but the ratio should be like reasonable 1:10 maybe don’t know what ratio is reasonable though but the rich holding to their money in the times of crisis sound selfish after all they are not going to starve after the taxes but if the aid programs are cut that would really affect the poor
    to not exhaust the cow, to not starve the calf
    and i wanted to shame the creditors, china, perhaps, don’t be greedy and maybe some debt could be a little that relaxed, the interests ciuld be waived or something but if to think that they spent mlns if not blns bombing libya alone plus two more wars, then i’ m like ah let them learn their lesson
    the global crash which will surely follow the default is not that certain they say and after the last crash it won’t get worse hopefully
    if too push too hard and reach the bottom then violent social revolutions happen and nobody want revolutions i hope hm so that’s what i got from reading mostly twts

    Comment by read | July 30, 2011

  9. i further confess that whomver i meet like officially these days regarding my own pretty critical for me matters seem so like distracted by all this and seem to decide more on the negative side than the positive (for me) side as if like they are doing their part to not add their share to the whole, maa, bureaucrats are bureaucrats, especially an indian lady admin who seem to dislike me adds a lot, i like to compare her with ob/ma for some reason, like overzealous on the reactionary part

    Comment by read | July 30, 2011

  10. the main difference they say is just the total sum and duration only, one plan is about trillions and a decade, another one about billions and a half year, so they could maybe meet in the middle on the two-three years duration of the ceiling and tens to hundred billions increase, seems like easy and kinda like win-win-win, cz no then hopefully defaults and crises and the both sides could win good political points for their shared responsibility and good will
    so that was my review of the situation which seems to affect me like most directly

    Comment by read | July 30, 2011

  11. I confess to being disappointed to find five straight posts about the debt ceiling.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | July 30, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

