The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Summer doldrums

I confess that my summer vacation has been a little bit too long, given that my abbreviated contract at K College ended in April. I confess that the time before I got the job at Shimer College seems like a lifetime ago, let alone the time when I was still commuting to Kalamazoo.

I went through my Netflix history this week to try to remember a movie title, and I confess that it was strange — I was suddenly struck with memories of whole periods in my life based simply on what movies and TV shows I was watching at the time. I confess that my first Netflix shipment was the movie The Parallax View. I was working on my Zizek book at the time and wanted to see if there was any connection with Zizek’s book of the same title (there did not seem to be).

A friend of mine told me recently that her mom used to wear a t-shirt that read, “Nuclear war? But what about my career?” I confess that that has been my attitude toward the debt ceiling debate. I was worried that a default would lead to an economic catastrophe that would somehow result in my job being pulled out from under me. And now, I frankly can’t get myself worked up about the cuts. I know they’re bad in so many ways and I’m really disappointed in Obama for how he handled it — but in the last analysis, as long as they didn’t willfully cause a second financial crisis, I’m cool with it. Does that mean that I’ve somehow crawled over to the side of people who are benfiting from the evils of neoliberalism?

I confess that I resubscribed to London Review of Books earlier this summer and just this week also received my first issue of New York Review of Books. I’m tempted to subscribe to the relatively new Jewish Review of Books and Los Angeles Review of Books just for the sake of completeness — are there any other “Reviews of Books” I’m missing?

August 5, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

8 Comments

  1. If they dare you to play chicken with fully packed jumbo aircrafts, the honourable way out is to get yourself to chicken out, land the aircraft safely & then think about the next move.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 5, 2011

  2. tweets say markets are crashing? though there’s no much reason for mass panick they say
    it would be funny if after all that tough debt ceiling debate and the hard earned prevention of the default, the markets would crash anyway

    Comment by read | August 5, 2011

  3. panic rather i confess

    Comment by read | August 5, 2011

  4. I confess to being nervous that my friend was going to pick Infinite Jest for our book club. I started reading that book once and while I’m not proud to admit it, I gave it up after a while. There were just too many times where I’d stop and realize I had no idea what was going on. I confess I’ve never had much luck with literature that gets referred to as avant garde.

    I think she ended up going with either A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan or Imperfectionists by Tom Rachmann. I look forward to reading either.

    I confess to pride in a post I did for my running blog, and was even going to post a link here for thoughts from a (perhaps) more critical audience. But now I must confess to sloth because when I saw the editor doesn’t make links easy, I lost interest. I confess it may be just as well. Posts finished at 1 am sometimes seem better in theory than in execution.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 5, 2011

  5. I confess (and this is from someone who is loath to admit any flaws of her fair city) that the Los Angeles Review of Books isn’t worth subscribing to, even for the satisfaction of completism.

    I confess that I enjoyed The Imperfectionists a great deal and IJ almost not at all. I confess I have been on the library hold list for the Jennifer Egan book for a couple months now, and I am now number 31 (up from like a hundred something).

    I confess I am very good at using the library hold system. I confess that there is another patron at my library with my same first initial and almost my same last name (all but the last letter is identical, and the last letter of her/his name looks very like the last letter of mine). As a result, her books (I assume it’s a “her”) are shelved right next to mine in the holding area, which never fails to confuse me, because not only her name but her literary tastes and personal interests are very much like mine. The other day, for example, I was surprised to see that I had requested a pattern book on amigurumi, because although I had been thinking about making amigurumi I hadn’t remembered affirmatively making the request. Then I saw that it wasn’t for me. Then I went to the catalog kiosk and ordered the pattern book on amigurumi.

    I confess that I got to meet ebolden last night! I confess she was lovely, charming and very delightful.

    Comment by jms | August 5, 2011

  6. I confess that I read both Infinite Jest and Gravity’s Rainbow with a reader’s guide.

    I confess that I paid the library $10.35 in fines this week.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | August 5, 2011

  7. I’ve got just the Review of Books you need.

    Comment by Satan Mayo | August 5, 2011

  8. I confess that many moon’s ago I stopped at p. 42 of GR. Three days ago I decided to give it a second shot. I had a lot of fun with Inherent Vice.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 6, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

