The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Most boring dream ever

I typically wake up at around 6:30am on weekdays, as that’s when The Girlfriend’s alarm goes off and I normally can’t get back to sleep. Last night, I had a dream that I was waking up in the morning and the clock read approximately 7:12 — that is, I dreamed that I was waking up at a time that, while less early than my usual wake-up time, is still considered pretty early.

I confess that I endlessly put off any task that requires me or may require me to talk on the phone. In this case, I am putting off choosing a primary care physician for my forthcoming HMO plan because I may have to call the office to see if they’re taking new patients and — I confess — to make an appointment for a check-up, given that I haven’t darkened the door of a doctor’s office in nine years. (Well, that’s not quite true, as I went to an “urgent care” place to get an antibiotic to treat a really bad ingrown hair and I went to a Walgreen’s clinic last year. Still, no proper doctor’s appointments.) I further confess that I have not been to see a dentist in probably seven years, so I should look into that as well. I floss every day, though!

I confess that this has been my last week of total freedom, as next week I have a “retreat” at Shimer College as well as a couple other meetings. The following week, classes begin! At the age of 31, I finally have, for the first time in my life, a job that is intended to be permanent. I can reasonably assume I’ll be in the same city this time next year. I am going to have a stable income more or less indefinitely and can maybe even start planning things, i.e., I can foresee the possibility of paying off debts.

I confess that, like most of my peers, my ultimate financial horizon is paying off my student loans. After that occurs, I will presumably still be receiving the income that was previously devoted to the loans, but I have no concept of what it would be like to have that much disposable income or indeed what one does with it. Even in fantasies about winning the lottery, my first priority is to pay off my own debts, after which I would pay off my parents’ debts, my sister’s debts, The Girlfriend’s debts, etc. What we would do after crossing the threshold from negative net worth to zero net worth remains unclear, however, even in fantasy.

August 12, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

6 Comments

  1. We would be in a state normally referred to as mid-life crisis.

    I confess that taking sleeping pills has taken care of any dreaming (and maybe of any and all inspiration).

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 12, 2011

  2. i confess i thought what i like about the post and it was the order of paying-off the debts and inclusion of tGf into, aside from not visiting doctors, i approve
    though if you are going to plan to visit drs, aug, 24th is rashaan day (mountain stream) which is a good day to start new therapies or just visit a doctor, cz the odds it won’t harm you are greater so it’s believed according to our traditional calendar
    and if tGf loves you she would maybe refrain from using alarm clocks and find some other way to wake up in that, timely manner, cz there was a study saying that alarm clocks are detrimental to one’s health, to start a day from a stress, especially for the anxiety prone people
    i confess i thought the other day the only thing i truly possess in life is this car with a loan, still not paid for some few months, and maybe it was better for me to stay home and have at least my own apartment, stable job, own family, and i have neither of those at pretty advanced already age :(, nda
    a proverb says suusan tsetsenees yavsan teneg – which means the fool who travelled is better equipped than the wise who sat still, well, let’s hope that will come true in my case too, somehow

    Comment by read | August 12, 2011

  3. paid off, the car which is to be sold back for its half-price if i decide to go home for good
    i was to confess about driving on the red light yesterday in some strange lapse of inattention and there was a woman with three kids who started walking on the pedestrian walk mark, she was still on the other side of the road and,sure, stopped walking looking at me driving on the red, i was in such a shock how i can be so absentminded, on the road it happened for the first time
    and a little while a woman with again three kids was walking in the middle of the road and i stopped for her though it was the green light for me and now she kept walking, some kind of sign it occurred to me
    i was afraid some other car would be running alongside with me and wouldn’t stop for them, but again some strange momentarily mis-judgement on my behalf

    Comment by read | August 12, 2011

  4. I confess that on days when I ride my bike into school I can’t seem to concentrate on anything for hours afterward.

    Comment by ben | August 12, 2011

  5. They’re starting demolition on my kitchen on Monday, so I was supposed to spend all day today packing everything away. I got up at 6 a.m. for that purpose, but was seized with an irresistible impulse to cook, which of course has prevented me from packing. So far I’ve made baked eggs with polenta, tomato, basil, zucchini and parmesan (the basil I found growing in a neglected pot of tomatoes, a nice surprise, as I hadn’t planted it), and adas polow. It’s not yet noon. I’m going shopping now for ingredients to make lamb with pomegranate. I think I’m in trouble.

    Comment by jms | August 13, 2011

  6. Adas polow sounds fantastic.

    Comment by ben | August 13, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

