The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

Same shows as ever! I note that “Luther” will finally be played in North America starting at the end of September in one of the worst time-slots ever imagined. Who says, “Yeah, let’s play a new dramatic series at 10:00PM on a Wednesday?” The answer: fucking idiots. And this is possibly the greatest thing about the prematurely cancelled “Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles.” I speak, of course, about “Beastwizard.”

Otherwise, we had the usual new shows: “True Blood,” “Combat Hospital,” and “Murdoch Mysteries.”

I can’t speak for others, but I enjoyed the most recent episode of “True Blood.” The fight at the end was very silly and Pam had a great line. Jessica’s fantasy about killing Hoyt was awesome, especially the first time we saw the episode and didn’t know that it was a fantasy. I think I yelled something incomprehensible as Hoyt’s face smashed into the counter. Some time ago, Blythe predicted Hoyt becoming an anti-vampire fanatic when Jessica leaves him. I think Adam said something similar a week or two ago. Apparently I was wrong: no matter how strong Hoyt’s man-crush for Vampire Bill is, Hoyt’s immaturity is going to get the better of him. Jason flat-out rejecting Jessica was also good. Time and time again I think to myself, “Could Tara be any stupider?” I know that her only previous sign of intelligence was reading a Naomi Klein book (respectable, but not especially high brow or intellectual) in the first season. Apparently it was just a prop. Tara really is that stupid. And, next episode, she’ll get even stupider. Blythe liked the bed in the snow, even if that meant Sookie. It wasn’t entirely clear if it was a v-delusion (can vampires even have those?) or if they were in fairy-land. Question: was the child of the black-lady-ghost actually killed by Mr. Bellefleur, or is Andy or Terry or Bill’s ex-girlfriend the product of that impolitical union?

“Combat Hospital.” I was really disappointed that they didn’t waterboard the translator to death. Of all the characters–with the exception of the male neurosurgeon and the female lead–he is by far the worst. Do people actually watch this show because they enjoy it?

“Murdoch Mysteries.” George had a great scene where he laid out his theory that the entire family were vampires. Too bad it didn’t work out for him. Timely that some idiot was arrested for breaking into some woman’s house and trying to suck her blood this past week.

Also, completely unrelated, but in the genre of “strange praise” spam comments was the following, on Adam’s Friday post. Possibly the best one I’ve ever seen:

After representation whatsoever of your blogposts I moldiness say i pioneer this particularised one to generally be top nick. I mortal a weblog also and necessary to repost a few shear of your articles on my own diary tract. Should it be alright if I use this as daylong I private reference your web diary or create a incoming linkage to your article I procured the snipping from? If not I make and could not do it without having your tolerance . I hump collection starred this article to cheep and zynga calculate motivated for publication. Anyway revalue it either way!

I dare you to try to beat this one.

August 18, 2011 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

4 Comments

  1. I unjustly neglected to mention how much I liked Marcus in the past episode and I’m not convinced that he is entirely in the wrong in his marital dispute with Luna. His comment about Sam and Barbie dolls was hilarious as was his put-down of that pup in the wolf pack.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | August 18, 2011

  2. Wednesday is now before thursday again. I like Wednesday but I like Thursday too. Most of all I like my Wednesdays to happen before my Thursdays, and vice versa. Thursday is magnificent.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 19, 2011

  3. I’m loving Ugly Betty. The actor who plays Mark is phenomenal — it feels like he has a background in commedia dell’arte or dance. America Ferrera is impossibly winning. The biggest accomplishment is Vanessa Williams’s Wilhelmina, who goes from atrocious to sympathetic and back again in the same scene.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | August 19, 2011

  4. I think that on this season of True Blood, they’re doing a better job of making all the plots be plausibly related, rather than just doing things soap-opera-style. Sam’s brother’s shape-changing is also kind of fun, because you get actors acting like someone else’s impression of their character.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | August 21, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

