The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: School’s in from the summer

I confess that I have officially begun teaching at Shimer College. I confess that dropping “Visiting” from my title resulted in greater nervousness about my first day of class at Shimer than I felt about my first day of teaching ever — this, it seems, is for real.

I confess that The Girlfriend is probably right that I need to buy more underwear so that I don’t need to do laundry so often. I could probably also get by just doing one load instead of doing everything, but it feels wrong somehow.

August 26, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

6 Comments

  1. I confess to being incredibly relieved to find out the growth in our younger dog’s mouth was a benign histiocytosis. I may be getting the terminology wrong there, but the key word is benign anyway. This means once his cone is off on Sunday, everything should be pretty much back to normal.

    I confess to sloth when it came to cutting my lawn this past week. I will pre-emptively confess to further sloth this weekend in regards to progress in one of our bathrooms or basement. I suppose it’s possible I’ll put in some work on one of the three but if I know me – and I think I do – I probably won’t. Especially since I pretty much have to cut our grass.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | August 26, 2011

  2. i confess i enjoy my vacation very much
    as about cutting grass/lawn, it must be a work to use the grass cutting mashines, they seem noisy and heavy and causing annoyance to MiT, my father uses a hand held haymaker, hajuur, i don’t know its English name, must be would seem like a medieval thing to use, but it’s a very enjoyable exercise, i once helped him one summer when i was 18, fondest memories
    so the idea is to start a business selling those again to all the suffering lawn cutters of the world, 1. exercise, 2. silent, 3. light, 4. all just positive emotions, maa, my business plans never realize though, the cut edge could look very even depending on the cutter, but should have maybe a bit longer grass to cut, the well kept lawn would seem too short and having nothing to cut maybe

    Comment by read | August 26, 2011

  3. You might think that your girlfriend’s idea is wise, but I can assure you it is not. Once you get in the habit of buying socks and underwear rather than washing them, you’ll end up being able to go six months without doing laundry. Imagine washing a couple hundred pairs of socks! It’s a dangerous spiral. I speak from experience.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | August 28, 2011

  4. 3. You’re skipping over a wide swath of happy medium.

    Comment by jms | August 29, 2011

  5. Indeed, the number 10 comes to mind.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 29, 2011

  6. jms: you missed the idea of “the spiral.” Sure, it is one package of three pairs of socks and two underwear this week, but what happens next week when confronted with the same option? And so on.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | August 29, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

