The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: One week

I confess that I finished my first full week of teaching and also got my first paycheck. I confess that the latter occurence allowed me to catch up on the rent I owed to The Girlfriend, which was beneficial to my mood.

I confess that I always felt like it wasn’t so appallingly hot in September. I confess that I am experiencing a combination of extremely hot weather and allergies that is puzzling and unfamiliar to me.

I confess that I want to get cable now that I have an income again, but in reality I should probably first dig my way out of the hole I find myself in after this summer. I confess, however, that the Roku is unreliable to an often intolerable degree and that I don’t like watching shows on my computer.

I confess that I saw a picture of Union Station on some news story, and I felt a profound, gut-level relief that I will no longer be taking Amtrak every week.

September 2, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

7 Comments

  1. I confess to being tickled when I checked the stats for my blog about running and found somebody found it by clicking on my name for one of my comments at this site. On a related note, I confess that my run last night in the heat and humidity thoroughly kicked my ass.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 2, 2011

  2. I’m really pissed off at the bookstore: I ordered my texts for this semester two months ago, have the confirmation email and all, and now they say they’ve never received an order. Good luck scraping up 65 copies of “Political Theology,” “Security, Territory, Population,” “Homo Sacer,” and “State of Exception” in a week and a half.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | September 2, 2011

  3. Oh, and with respect to Gordon’s problems I mentioned a couple weeks ago, I confess to being happy that the most likely diagnosis is “kissing lesion.” Which is appropriate given that he has just learnt how to kiss. (He’s a late-comer to the arts familial.) Diagnostically, this is good because it isn’t cancer, benign nor malignant; but it is bad because the problem will recur if we don’t get his teeth cleaned, which will be a major expense. Fortunately, his gp is presently training for a dental specialty. Discount, I hope.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | September 2, 2011

  4. Craig, glad to hear both of our dogs avoided cancer of the mouth.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 2, 2011

  5. I confess that I cannot come up with the name of the painter whose last supper is shown on Tuesday’s hatred, and if it were then, now instead of, as it is, now, I would hate it. I confess that I could not find the painting on Google images with no other identifiers than “last supper” Kind of Max Beckmann-ish?

    I confess to happiness at the serendipity of today being the third day in a row without a dense marine layer in the morning.

    I confess that there is something awesome about the existence of pelicans

    Comment by grackle | September 2, 2011

  6. I confess it is Gustave van de Woesteyne. I also confess that I may have got the spelling wrong. I finally confess to not being able to make out if grackle hates it or not.

    I confess that I find it inexplainably offensive to be paid by the week. Maybe that is because I’m convinced people should be paid up-front for life.

    Comment by Guido Nius | September 3, 2011

  7. I confess that its a pretty wonderful painting. I confess to being pleased that it is Belgian. Being paid by the week sucks, but much less than not being paid.

    Comment by grackle | September 3, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

