The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Love It or Hatrid

I was browsing the internet and stumbled on a couple of reviews that started with “you will either love it or hate it”. I hate it. Basically the only information content that is transmitted by this turn of phrase is that of the superiority of the author. Let’s put it in an appropriately binary way: either the author loves it but believes a large number of people will not get it, or she or he hates it but is convinced that there are people stupid enough not to see the stupidity of it all. The balance of the horns is on the first term, whether in the form of the cultural equivalent of all too dense chocolate mousse or in that of  kitsch, cult  or whatever other denomination of things that look like they want to be popular but are just too damned bad to be actually really popular.

Whatever. If you see “love it or hate it”, just hate it and move on.

So, as I was saying, I was bored today. It felt really good. I think I even managed a thought or two. I’m sure they were not original but they felt pretty OK. Certainly not in the “love it or hate it”-category as I forgot at least half of them already. It is also not that I love being bored but I certainly don’t always hate to be bored. Come to think of it, what possibly could be worthwhile and interesting that is clearly on either side of a loving/hating dichotomy?

I mean, I love The Wife but I hate her sometimes too (not to mention The Kids). I hope they do too.

What, dear readers, have you to offer as counter-examples in the present matter?

September 6, 2011 - Posted by | boredom, Tuesday Hatred

14 Comments

  1. I hate planning a bachelor party.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | September 6, 2011

  2. It’s better than having a bachelor party planned for you.

    Sorry for posting early. I hate that there are different time zones.

    Comment by Guido Nius | September 6, 2011

  3. I find the idea of weddings and their associated paraphernalia to be rather offensive: somewhere between a Darwin/Cthulhu/Jesus fish and shitting on the sidewalk. So, yeah, I hate them.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | September 6, 2011

  4. i confess i am invited to a wedding this fall, was not sure what to bring as a wedding present
    i hate to be of two minds, indecisive, uncertain never quite happy anywhere i am, it would have been better for me if it was just decided for me, do/be this or other way, i was approaching the east coast for example yesterday on the plane and thinking nothing keeps me here forever why i would come here to the strangers’ land again when i could be with my family and not having always this ache, the feeling of missing them all, the tightness in the chest
    too weepy, i know, i’ll get used again to loneliness that’s for sure and hopefully not for that long, i mean in the next half yr i have to decide for sure, to leave or to stay, so this decision making process i hate most

    Comment by read | September 6, 2011

  5. I hate being stopped at a rail crossing only to find it’s a locomotive pulling no cars or one of those pickups fitted to be able to drive on railroad tracks. Of course, I hate it more when it turns out to be a proper train that requires a much longer wait. Actually, I only hate these things when I’m in a hurry. Other times, it allows me time to catch up on Words With Friends.

    As for “Love it or Hate it”, I remember thinking this once. It was the end of No Country for Old Men and the theater in which I saw it had literally eight people in it. All of us had braved an ice storm to get to the theater (hence the thin numbers). When it was over, my wife and I kind of went, “Wait, it’s over?” (because of the abrupt ending) but agreed we liked it. The responses from the other three couples were along the lines of “What the fuck?”, “I almost killed myself getting here for that?” and “This is why I don’t go to the movies anymore.” I told my wife that maybe it’s a “love it or hate it” movie.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 6, 2011

  6. No, the other couples were morons. Hell, what a good movie!

    Comment by Guido Nius | September 6, 2011

  7. The Mother In Law visited this weekend. With her she brought three or four dozen baked chocolate chip cookies. When returning home from an evening spent in downtown Chicago, we found that one of the dogs had somehow managed to pull the container off the counter and ate every last cookie!!!!

    That is bad, but not the part I hate. No, the part I hate is the unspeakable profanity that came out my dogs (two puggles) later that night. I doubt plant life will ever be able to grow again where they left their excrement.

    Comment by William | September 6, 2011

  8. i hate the toilet doesn’t flash properly and when i complained to the super he explained to me that theirs is a water saving system, shouldn’t it function properly first before its other benefits

    Comment by read | September 7, 2011

  9. The phrase “love it or hate it” always makes me think of the Game/50 Cent song, and every time I see this post title the song starts running through my head. I don’t like The Game, but the first verse by 50 Cent I’ve always found very affecting.

    Comment by jms | September 8, 2011

  10. I temporarily confused The Game with The Weeknd and was baffled that he had recorded a song with 50 Cent.

    Comment by ben | September 8, 2011

  11. Yeah, no wonder that losers want to be winners, that’s why the winners try to make losers see the life style of winners as sinful decadence

    Comment by Guido Nius | September 8, 2011

  12. I hate the smell of vitamins, especially how it hits me when I open the bathroom cabinet.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | September 8, 2011

  13. smells are such a strong mood influencer, i moved from the old apartment when somebody a new tenant started cooking some terrible food smelling like mousy, and it would permeate the whole building, i still wonder what food was that, if it was just some baking or garlicky smell or onion or some other fish or meat being roasted food smell i wouldn’t be bothered that much i believe, but that smell was like unbearable, maybe it was some kind of grains/beans being boiled overnight smell and its direct smell could be not that disturbing, but coming through the old walls it was the nastiest suffocating smell and i would fight it with candles, stove burning, lysol spray, opening all the windows even though outside was snowing etc, i am sure it was not my nose

    Comment by read | September 8, 2011

  14. moved out of the apartment should say maybe, though sounds the same to me from/out, in the new place the walls seem again pretty thin, thankfully not very noisy neighbours, except they like to watch sometimes tv too loudly, i once even pounded the wall in the midnight and they became silent, basically too many people have hearing problems i suspect, cz the tv loudness should be the same with the radio, just like some background noise, not very distracting and tv sounds are less annoying that one’s direct sounds of talking on the phone or moving the furniture, and now this drainage problem what is annoying me for now, too bad, the rent is not cheap and i can’t live with the minimum comfort! should complain to the rental office maybe, if the super won’t help

    Comment by read | September 8, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

