The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

While it was the proper outcome that Peter Dinklage won in his category and it while it was great that he famously thanked his dog-sitter, it’d be nice if he stopped using that prong collar on his dog. Anyway, a picture.

Now that she has conquered professional televised karaoke, it would appear that the most repulsive woman alive is moving into competitive belly dancing.

The new TV season is upon us. We’ve had the chance to check out some new shows (sorry, no screen caps this week!). I mentioned “Ringer” last week as being particularly bad. It wasn’t just the pilot that was bad, it was also the second episode. I highly do not recommend this show, but, after watching two episodes, it seems we are committed until cancellation, which I hope is mercifully soon. Sure, it was more teen supernatural romance, but, for what it was, I enjoyed “The Secret Circle.” With “Ringer,” I really don’t care about Siobhan’s motivations for faking her own death; at least with “The Secret Circle” I’ll watch to find out what happened to all their parents. The girl from “Life Unexpected” and the “good witch” are intolerable, but the dark-haired “mean/bad witch” is, if nothing else, entertaining. I’m glad John Connor is getting a pay-cheque, but is this really the best way to prepare for the rise of the machines?

The other new show we watched was “Unforgettable.” More like “Unwatchable.” In a really ballsy move, io9, the sci-fi and cool science stuff website, had a major take-down of the show yesterday. Quite funny. They conclude, “It’s hard to imagine this “human computer” procedural will keep growing its viewership after people realize its premise is basically tedium, laced with incredibly bad drama.” I concur. We only watched the show because Poppy Montgomery was our deceased dog’s, Minnie, favourite actress. (Her favourite actor was Tahmoh Penikett.)

Otherwise, we spent the past week starting and finishing season 6 of “Supernatural” on DVD. We started last Wednesday or Thursday and finished last night. That’s a lot of Sam, Dean, and Castiel. I was disappointed that the sixth disc was scratched out of the box and, as a result, the disc skipped the scene where Castiel kills Balthazar. Unfortunately, I’ve already tossed my receipt and I don’t know if I’ll be able to get a new copy, which obviously sucks. We both had thought Crowley was killed in the season finale–turns out he wasn’t, which is great. I look forward to the possibility of Sam, Dean and Crowley driving around the country hiding from Castiel. “Supernatural” premiers on Friday, along with “Fringe” (which also had Balthazar in it where he is also dead–but he was a robot-man-machine from the other side, so maybe there is another copy somewhere.) And while we’re on the Balthazar track, who was also on “General Hospital” as Jax’s evil brother, I see that James Franco has returned to Port Charles for an extended stay. Too bad it isn’t summer otherwise I’d be more able to watch.

Apparently 1/3 Canadian television sets were turned to the premier of “Two and a Half Men.” No wonder the shows I like are cancelled.

“You’re a witch. We are all witches. There. Done.”

September 22, 2011 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

5 Comments

  1. I’ve been plowing through the first season of Louis on Netflix streaming. I love that show. It shines a light on some pretty dark aspects of our modern lives and then just kind of says, “Yup. There they are. I’m not going to do anything about them because I don’t care enough to do that. I’m just telling you they’re there.”

    It’s remarkable to me the show’s allowed to exist, but I saw on Wikipedia they basically told Louis CK they’d give him $200K to do the show and he could do what he wanted with it.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 22, 2011

  2. I have to say I am totally over Supernatural. The last season kinda sucked and felt disjointed and kinda pointless in comparison to previous seasons. It had the feeling of them just continuing the show because it’s been going for so long and has such a loyal following. I was really hoping we’d get to see God last season. We pretty much have met every demon, angel, evil thing imaginable. The Mother was kinda disappointing so all that’s left is to meet the real god and find out where his heads been at the last oh few decades. Otherwise the show is kinda just spinning it’s wheel in my opinion.

    Comment by The Secret Circle | September 22, 2011

  3. no wampires today, nice

    Comment by read | September 22, 2011

  4. I’m pretty sure that was the greatest comment in the history of “Spoiler Alert Thursday.” The genius of the comment is that I can’t tell if the commenter is a highly literate sixteen year old fan, a semi-volunteer “Secret Circle” “street team” member, a paid employee of CW, or a hired “opinion management” firm. (Given that registrant information is completely private, I’m inclined to believe that it isn’t a real fan who made the site in question.) If any of the latter three, I definitely deserve a free poster or button or something.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | September 22, 2011

  5. the best comment in the history of “Spoiler Alert Thursday.” is read’s comment: (above):

    “no wampires today, nice”

    Comment by grrl | September 23, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

