The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Can-kicking

I confess that I have grown bored with news stories that consist of people kicking cans down roads. The Eurozone debt issue is a great example of that, as is the federal budget apparently. Those who momentarily thought the financial crisis would cause a wholesale reevaluation of our world economic system were probably underestimating the degree to which a major panic actually reinforces the kind of short-term thinking that got us into trouble in the first place.

I confess that I always enjoy tearing the last month’s page off of my desk calendar, as I will do today. I confess that I am disappointed by the realization that I cannot pursue my “financial goals” (first of all, digging out of the hole I got myself into this summer) as aggressively as I had initially envisioned — particularly once I realize that I have to pay my own way to AAR this year.

I confess that I’m going to clean the hell out of this apartment today, a task that I’ve been anticipating all week and probably more. I got a new mop and everything.

September 30, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

9 Comments

  1. I confess that I saved more than 15% on my car insurance by switching from Allstate to State Farm. This is something my wife and I have been wanting to do for a while but the final straw was when after having been a customer of theirs for over ten years, they sent me a birthday card this month when my birthday is in November. Not only that, I then received a birthday card from another company asking me to subscribe to their services. My assumption was not only did Allstate screw up my birthday, they sold my information to somebody else. If you’re going to act like I’m your friend, at least try a little harder.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | September 30, 2011

  2. I confess I suspect – like everyone else in the Eurozone – that the Eurozone debt issue was made up outside Eurozone.

    Comment by grrl | September 30, 2011

  3. I confess that the new mop worked out well. It’s one of those self-wringing mops, instead of the shitty sponge ones I’ve been using. I confess that my sense of happiness and contentment now that the house is clean seems disproportionate to me.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 30, 2011

  4. I confess that why do you even need to go to AAR this year?

    Comment by ben | September 30, 2011

  5. I confess that I read the post thinking (not for any good reason) that Guido had written it. When I got half way through I realized of course Adam does the confessions, and the whole sense I had gotten from the post changed utterly.

    I confess I am not quite ready for winter.

    Comment by grackle | September 30, 2011

  6. I confess that now the Indian Summer I wished for is here I hate it. There should be law against sunny weather when people start to suffer first autumn colds. I confess it would be a good idea to stop smoking but smoking when having a cikd is like spending in a debt crisis: damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 1, 2011

  7. i confess i’m glad grrl is confessing here, cz since jms seems left here permanently, she is either too happy or unhappy to go online, i felt like alone in the male once more world, not counting the posters of course
    but food posts don’t hold much interest for me and the erasing incidents are kinda like unforgettable

    Comment by read | October 1, 2011

  8. I’m here, read, I’m here! I confess I’m not too happy to be online. I’ve only sometimes been too unhappy.

    Comment by jms | October 3, 2011

  9. i confess i like 8 and now it’s getting too cold to get up in the mornings my joints hurt, something wrong with the spine or ribs, in that area

    Comment by read | October 3, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

