The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Zizek!

I confess that I’m going to a Zizek lecture this afternoon, primarily because my fellow new faculty members at Shimer are interested in going. It’s at UIC, which has the side benefit of giving me a new L stop. Here’s how things will stand after the lecture:

For those who aren’t familiar with this particular manifestation of my neurosis, I have set myself the goal of visiting as many L stops as possible through “sincere usage” — i.e., I can’t go to the stop just to say I did, but must have an actual destination that naturally takes me to the stop. The past few months have been pretty productive, as my employment at Shimer College has allowed me to “get” the Red and Green Line 35th stops, and a trip to Pilsen got me the two Pink Line stops along Paulina.

I confess that the odds of me actually getting to every single stop are extremely low, as I haven’t even been able to find a “sincere usage” for some stops in areas that I regularly visit — the two lingering Purple Line stops in Evanston are the prime example here. On the other hand, they will soon be opening up a new stop on the Green/Pink Lines in the West Loop, where two of my friends live, so I’ll likely be able to pick that one off right away.

October 21, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

10 Comments

  1. I confess that seeing the bubbled-in CTA map this morning has made me unreasonably happy.

    I confess I just woke up from a completely ridiculous dream, which revealed my victim complex tendencies to truly embarrassing degree. I think it literally ended with my limping away to go commit suicide because my parents hadn’t noticed that I had become crippled from falling down the stairs due to exhaustion from taking care of my little sister, who was being bullied by her grammar school classmates (I don’t have a little sister in real life — I can only assume that the bullying victim was also me).

    Comment by jms | October 21, 2011

  2. This week I had a dream in which Shimer College had brought in two new job candidates and forced me to compete against them in order to keep my job. When I expressed my misgivings about this situation, they laughed at me.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | October 21, 2011

  3. I confess to coming up with the joke that not taking a race (the running kind) seriously enough is a form of racism. I confess nobody has laughed at it yet, but when my dried up brain came up with it during my race (I passed out not ten minutes later), I thought it was pretty funny.

    I confess that when you seriously think you might die, things you don’t really have much control over run through your brain. I confess I did not give one fleeting thought to the afterlife, only to whether my wife would be taken care of and how well she’d move on. I confess that in what has been a pretty shitty week, what seems like a very genuine confirmation of our wonderful relationship has lifted my spirits more than nearly anything else.

    I confess I enjoy sometimes sharing things here I won’t let out anywhere else.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 21, 2011

  4. I confess that despite having no luck getting further on my screenplay outline, I did have a good run at a sketch called “Are You Smarter Than A Soldier.”

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 21, 2011

  5. Does it involve the line “Who isn’t?”.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 21, 2011

  6. Make that . a ?.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 21, 2011

  7. It’s a game show you feel bad about winning. We’ll see. It may be too expensive to put together a game show set for shooting, but if it happens you heard it here first.

    In the spirit of 3.last, I confess that actually going down to Occupy L.A. bores me.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 21, 2011

  8. I confess that the job market is making me think about those nice emails I got from tech companies who wanted to interview me further, that arrived after I accepted my present position.

    Comment by ben | October 21, 2011

  9. I confess that if sick people can survive taking pills, why shouldn’t reasonably healthy people?

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 22, 2011

  10. I confess I put Monday Movies up seven minutes early (I confess that I unquestionably submit to the construction that the blog is in Central Time, such that even though it is two hours and six minutes from my own Sunday, the post is only a few minutes early.)

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 23, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

