The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: A Life of Leisure

I confess that I find it to be a noteworthy occasion when I sleep straight through the night. One night this week, in fact, The Dog woke me up at 4:30 and I “counted” it as sleeping through the night since I normally wake up, like clockwork, three hours after I go to sleep, in order to go to the bathroom. The precision often amazes me.

I confess that I was discussing it with a colleague, and I probably have the lowest workload that I am likely to have at any future time during my career at Shimer. I confess that next semester I am doing two sections of a writing-intensive course, which will result in much more grading as the students can apparently do unlimited rewrites. I confess that, sappy idealist as I am, I am actually looking forward to helping them with their writing — that was a major goal of mine at Kalamazoo, and I found it consistently frustrating that I didn’t know whether my advice would do any long-term good, given that I was only there for a short time and only had a handful of repeat students.

I confess that my superego continues to mildly berate me for not making better use of this relative life of leisure. But my ego and perhaps my id are telling me that I’ve been pretty tightly wound for the past few years between my ridiculous number of writing projects and the horrific stresses of the job market. In the past, I’ve found that my body will eventually give me an “involuntary day off” when I can’t get up the energy to do much more than catch up on the DVR — this may be the longer-term version of that.

I confess, however, that I have received my Hebrew grammar and lexicon in the mail, so I will at least have some kind of larger project to fiddle with.

October 28, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess to indifference toward the World Series even though my Twitter feed is littered with people talking about last night’s game being the greatest in baseball history.

    I confess I almost always stop what I’m doing to play Words With Friends. Even at work.

    I confess being a union negotiator and sitting through negotiations always makes me want to quit my job, even though things have been going pretty well for quite a while now.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | October 28, 2011

  2. Oh, I further confess to wanting to kill one of my cats this morning. My wife finally got up after three snoozes on our alarm, leaving me with a half hour to catch a few extra “z”s. Yet my wife wasn’t even all the way up the stairs and one of our idiot cats was meowing for some reason. I tried instructing the dogs to go chase her (the cat) back downstairs, but this worked only as a temporary solution. A half hour later, I trudged down the stairs to see what the hell she was bitching about – sometimes she’s concerned if she gets separated from her sister – and she just wanted fed. When I went to feed her, her bowl was half full of food.

    “Meow.”

    “You stupid shit. You’ve got plenty of food.”

    “Meow.”

    I pour a serving of food in her bowl. She eats about five pieces and then goes to lie on the couch. Stupid cat.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | October 28, 2011

  3. I confess that I volunteered to appear in a bit of street theater outside a hotel strike this morning. I was a “corporate vampire” in a Harvard T-shirt (the hotel’s owner is HEI, backed by Ivy League endowments). I further confess that after the guerilla sketch, in which we demanded a housekeeper work faster so we could suck profit from her, I did a stand-up interview in costume in rudimentary vampire Spanish: “Es una proposition simple. Ellos trabajan, y yo bebo su sangre. Si no siguen trabajando, yo no tengo suficiente sangre.”

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 28, 2011

  4. I confess: way to go, Josh!

    I also confess that boredom is thE way to get to inspiration. I miss full on boredom. Luckyly I do love The Kids, otherwise I’d have to kill them.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 29, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

