The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Children and hot fluids should be kept apart

I confess that some of my students have apparently started reading AUFS and following me on Twitter. In retrospect, this was more or less inevitable at such a small institution, but it makes me vaguely nervous. I confess that teaching seems to have calmed me down generally, so it will probably be fine.

I confess…

November 4, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess that a baseball blogger I know who used to write for the same blog network as me – I know that is one helluva strange start to a sentence – mentioned how it was weird seeing Zizek at an Occupy gathering because her class had been talking about him. I explained it was weird seeing my totally distinct internet worlds run together because I knew this other blogger who had actually written a book about Zizek, but had never heard the name mentioned anywhere else. Her mind was sufficiently blown as well. Maybe Adam will get a sale out of it.

    I confess I just can’t seem to get into my book club’s selection this month, What is the What, by David Eggers. It’s not written in the Eggers way that so many people seem to have a problem with. But for reasons I probably wouldn’t be too comfortable with if I thought about it real hard, I don’t typically take an interest in books set in exotic places about people whose experiences and trials are totally unrelatable to my own.

    I do try to stretch beyond my comfort zone from time to time, but it always feels like an effort and I’d always prefer to snap back to the Franzens and Chabons and Canins I know, am comfortable with and enjoy.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | November 4, 2011

  2. I confess I write this mainly because I am worried about the lack of comments over here lately.

    I confess I am eternally grateful to myself for keeping my internet identity and my real identity separate. I am sure they can be puzzled together though. Luckily I am even surer nobody will take the trouble of doing so.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 5, 2011

  3. Did you follow them back?

    I confess I had a strange dream last night where Adam lived down the road from me. He was a dairy farmer and was always putting up giant pavilions in his fields for a wedding–his own? Someone else’s? Who knows. The cows didn’t agree with this invasion of their space and they were always escaping due to the fact that there wasn’t a fence along the road. Admittedly, much of this dream was likely inspired by an article Blythe shared with me about yet another transport of animals on the way to slaughter crashing, thus allowing animals to escape. The police chased the cows around town and shot them down.

    Guido: careful. Blythe will take that as a personal challenge and should she do so, she’ll provide you with your name, address, place of employment, etc, etc, within twenty-four hours. I’ve never seem someone use Google as well as she does.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | November 5, 2011

  4. I confess Blythe is welcome to knowing who I am although I would prefer if she does not share it.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 5, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

