The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Please Note

I confess that I am leaving today for the AAR. It will be a quick trip, as I have to teach on Monday. I’m torn between feeling that I won’t have enough time to hang out with everyone and the feeling that a shorter trip is better for my travel anxieties. I confess that I expected travel anxieties to abate over time as my financial situation stabilized, but that is apparently not the case.

I confess that one of my students seems to be almost physically agitated by Kierkegaard’s insistence on irresolvable paradoxes. That is surely Kierkegaard’s intended effect, right?

I confess that my experience this week writing my AAR paper in small chunks increased my confidence in my ability to continue writing actively even during the school year.

November 18, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess to being unprepared for discussing my book club’s book tonight. This is the book club I started and subtly pressured a few people into joining, including the person responsible for picking tonight’s book (David Eggers What is the What). Further strengthening my need to confess is this is the first meeting the chooser of the book has been able to make and I suspect only two of the club’s seven members read it.

    She’s from New York, though, and I’ll be presenting he with a Yankees cap from our trip there this summer, so hopefully my offering will atone for my sins.

    Comment by mattintoledo | November 18, 2011

  2. I confess that getting your tooth pulled is way more painful than getting your leg pulled.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 18, 2011

  3. I confess I miss my book club.

    Comment by ebolden | November 19, 2011

  4. I confess to feeling that failing to appreciate, if not ultimately agree with, Kierkegaard, is a sure sign of moral turpitude, and that I would likely judge the student in question for it.

    Comment by Hill | November 21, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

