The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

We spent a good part of the weekend in the hospital. Specifically, the emergency room. I would like to make just one observation: hospitals as portrayed on TV–ranging from resources available to the personalities of the staff and the good looks of the doctors and nurses–have absolutely no relation to reality. Indeed, the contemporary Canadian hospital ER is positively post-apocalyptic in comparison.

With respect to the end of the world, “Dexter” has been discussed in passing in comments on last week’s episode. I think they’ve blown a perfectly good opportunity to have Dexter talking to three disembodied voices. But, I hope they press the downfall of Quinn a bit further, even though he had his heart-to-heart with Deb. And, obviously, it was Maria’s boss who was involved with the dead hooker. No big reveal coming there. Again, I feel ambivalent about “The Walking Dead.” I enjoy watching the show, but I’m left somewhat unsatisfied once it ends. I gather everyone loves Shortround and Bella Talbot from “Supernatural” as a couple. I don’t. I hope they fuck in the hayloft and fall through the floor and are eaten by the friends and family zombie pack. And, amazingly, I hate the blonde woman who shot Darryl even more this week. When will she and Shane elope? Although that would mean not having Shane and I admire his consistently bad mood. What is the probability that Shane is the father of Carl? Or, at least, suspects he is?

“Supernatural” was great–yet again–started off as a monster-of-the-week and ended up advancing the season long arc.

November 24, 2011 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

4 Comments

  1. One of the best things of watching an ER on television is that you are not in one. Hope it’s resolved now whatever it was.

    Speaking about sociopaths, why is there no series on a HR department?

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 24, 2011

  2. Or university presidents/provosts/chancellors/rectors.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | November 24, 2011

  3. I always regret having no contributions to make at SAT. This, because I have always been two to twenty years behind in television. For instance I just started Breaking Bad (!), and finally finished Twin Peaks. My taste in music is comparably incapable of ‘keeping up with the times’.

    Hope emergencies are resolved and those involved have healed.

    Comment by ebolden | November 24, 2011

  4. Everybody has experience with HR sociopath behavior. It would have more mass appeal.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 24, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

