The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Oh captain my captain

I confess that I have completed my first semester of teaching at Shimer College. Papers will be coming in today, then students have “writing week” to do some kind of special project integrating their courses for the semester, and the following week there will be “final conferences” where students will meet with all their profs at once — but classes are now over. I confess that it seemed to go well overall, and I’m looking forward to next semester.

I confess that I’m somewhat anxious about my evaluations, not because I think I have anything in particular to worry about, but merely because they’re evaluations and they exist.

I confess that next semester, I will have my mornings totally open for the most part. Given that I wake up very early due to The Girlfriend’s work schedule, this will represent a significant block of free time that may allow me to accomplish something meaningful alongside and in addition to teaching — for instance, language work or even the beginnings of a new research project. So we’ll have to see how that goes.

December 2, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

7 Comments

  1. I’m not too concerned about evalurations, but I am worried that I’ll have to explain why one third of the students in one class dropped it. Not my fault that the class starts at 2:30 on Friday and the material is intellectually challenging! Well, I guess the later is my fault.

    Comment by Craig | December 2, 2011

  2. I confess that I think this headache will never go over. I confess that may be for the best.

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 3, 2011

  3. I confess that I once spoke at a public forum, representing my boss, in favor of draping the Hollywood sign in red white and blue for the Veterans’ Day following 9/11/01, using the phrase, “after our national nightmare, the dream factory wants to give something back.”

    Comment by Josh K-sky | December 3, 2011

  4. Josh – You bastard.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 4, 2011

  5. If it isn’t on YouTube, it wasn’t public.

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 4, 2011

  6. I’m surprised read hasn’t yet left a comment suggesting that if The Girlfriend truly loves you she would sleep standing up in the corner, already dressed for the day, waking silently, as if by magic (or an alarm chip implanted in her brain), so as to not disturb your slumber.

    Comment by Blythe | December 5, 2011

  7. hi, Blithe, it’s nice you missed me, otoh it’s always surprising to me people read me to be such a misogynist that i would suggest so oppressive things to Tgf, she’s a fully autonomous being with her own interests and work to do other than to be a nanny to her boyfriend, so must be it was your joke
    i am not misogynist, just misanthropist to selfish self-centered people causing others suffering, it’s another matter though if the sufferer enjoys suffering then one sure please have it however one likes
    i hope surely you are smoking hot and keep being that, otherwise your SO might stop loving you easy, sorry, GN, it’s not about your story in particular, just that, feminist objection in general

    Comment by read | December 5, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

