The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: End-of-semester-mas comes but once a year

I confess that my semesterly duties have officially ended. I believe my first semester at Shimer was basically a success, though I still have much to learn.

I confess that I devoted a disproportionate amount of energy to sartorial concerns during this semester. I am reasonably confident that I did not wear the exact same combination of clothing items to school more than once over the course of the term. One slight exception was yesterday, my last day of “official” duties on campus for the semester, when I wore the exact same thing as on my first day of classes, with the addition of a tie clip that The Girlfriend got me for Christmas.

I confess that we exchanged Christmas presents this Tuesday, as I had done my Christmas shopping that day and was excited — and we also have a tendency to do our exchange early, so as not to have to do it in the context of whichever family Christmas we’re attending. This year, I got The Girlfriend a grandchild-esque number of presents. My proudest purchase was a purse (inspired in part by the weekend travel bag I knew she was getting me), which many of my friends felt was a bold and even risky choice, given how picky women generally are about purses. I seem to have selected well, however. I also got her two aprons from Anthropologie, a rolling pin, and a new umbrella that fits in one of the outer pockets of her purse. In addition to the travel bag and some tie clips, she got me a long-desired item: a bottle opener for my keychain.

I confess that we are visiting her family in Florida this Christmas, resulting in my first Christmas away from my family. I was home for Thanksgiving and then unexpectedly soon thereafter for my grandfather’s funeral, so hopefully that will be some compensation.

I confess that I do not now own, nor have I ever owned in my entire adult life, any waterproof footwear. This despite the fact that walking is my primary means of transportation.

December 16, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

6 Comments

  1. I confess to not thanking Adam for an idea on how to approach an idea for a graphic novel I’ve long been carrying around. In fact, I think I’ve commented about it here. Anyway, he had a post at AUFS that discussed the possibility of teaching writing by having students break up the assignment instead of writing the whole thing and then re-writing entire drafts. This gave me the idea to just write “scenes” for the book I want to do without concerning myself with the overall plot. This could allow me to kickstart the project instead of being intimidated by the fact that I don’t have much beyond a starting point. So thank you, Adam.

    I confess I’m still not confident I’ll start said writing project any time soon.

    My final confession is to pondering over the song Midnight Train to Georgia. If you’re not familiar, the woman singing is basically saying her “man” is leaving LA to go live a simpler life in Georgia and she’s going with him. Her reasoning is she’d “rather live in his world than without him in” hers. After seeing Josh’s discussion of the female roles in The Muppets, I chided myself for not thinking of things a little more critically and that criticism creeped into my thinking of this song. The result was to ask myself if this would be considered a feminist song or not.

    I could see people not liking that she’s so willing to uproot herself just to follow her man. On the other hand, the song seems to imply that she’s doing just fine in LA but is leaving anyway. Perhaps this is because she’s certain she can do just as well – or at least succeed again – in Georgia. This, to me, would suggest she’s just making confident choices about her life rather than being afraid of living a life without her man.

    I confess to not caring that Christopher Hitchens died, just like I don’t care when 99% of other celebrities die.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 16, 2011

  2. I confess that if one more radio station changes to “All Holiday Music All The Time!” that I’m going to burn all of the radio stations down. And I think “Santa Baby” needs to be checked for STDs.

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | December 16, 2011

  3. I confess Matt seems to favour the 1%. I am a 0% kinda guy. I confess I would like to be able to follow Matt’s writing.

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 16, 2011

  4. I confess to a small pulse of pride in the stirring of MiT’s newfound sexual/textual politics.

    I confess that I wish there were more people who got the “sexual/textual politics” joke, especially in conversations about the band Toro y Moi.

    I confess that Mrs. K-sky’s friend died early Wednesday morning. I confess that this is the first time I’ve been around a peer who was dying, and that the last two weeks have been a very strange and sacred bubble, one that I am inside of though not at the center of.

    I further confess that I volunteered to music-direct a play-and-sing-along of “The Rainbow Connection” for his memorial. Wish us luck.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | December 16, 2011

  5. Luck!

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 17, 2011

  6. The 1% is pretty much Johnny Cash.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 17, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

