The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: White Elephant! WHAT FUN!!!

I confess that I am writing this on Tuesday, as I will be visiting The Girlfriend’s family in Florida for the rest of the week. I confess that I find it almost incomprehensible that it will be around 80 degrees the entire time we’re there.

I confess that we are returning on Christmas day, meaning that this year will be the first time in my adult life when I will be in my actual home (as opposed to the place I politely call “home”) for at least a part of Christmas. The Girlfriend and I have a tradition of watching the Always Sunny Christmas special every year, and this time we can do it actually on Christmas day, all while enjoying a nice beer. I can’t wait to scream again when Charlie attacks Santa!

I confess that my parents got us nice presents this year, even though we’re not going to Flint for Christmas. The Girlfriend’s gift, a sewing machine, arrived first, and she has already used it to repair a tear in one of our sheets and to sew a thank you note. Mine was a new keyboard. I’ve had my previous keyboard for probably close to 20 years, and it’s been showing its age — certain keys are no longer very responsive, and it had an annoyingly narrow range. The new one sounds much nicer and is at least closer to a full keyboard at 76 keys. I played for hours the first day I got it, and I realized that there are pieces in my repertoire that I haven’t played in years because I’ve been so frustrated by the need to improvise solutions to the lack of certain notes. One Chopin prelude felt particularly cruel, as the final note was only a half-step out of the old keyboard’s range.

I confess that today is my mom’s birthday. I confess that it is the only family member’s birthday I have ever remembered, solely because it’s so close to Christmas. I confess that it’s a shame that I grew up pre-Facebook, because now it’s so much easier to “pass” as a considerate and thoughtful person — you just get your computer to simulate the outward appearance of caring about and keeping up with people for you.

December 23, 2011 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

5 Comments

  1. I confess that I initially thought Adam meant a computer keyboard and thought there was no way it was even close to a good gift.

    I confess today is the first of six straight days off but I’ll be doing a lot of driving over that time. A quick guesstimate is something like 600 miles and that’s just from Sunday through Wednesday.

    My final confession is I will start training for another half-marathon next week. I’ve been remiss in keeping up with my running since my last race put me in the hospital but it’s more because I hate night running than fear of medical repercussions. Postscript confession: I don’t think I’ll be reviving my running blog once I start training again.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | December 23, 2011

  2. I confess I’m having a good day.

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 23, 2011

  3. Oh. That kind of keyboard. I was thinking Kotsko was thrilled with some new Logitech with Internet buttons.

    Comment by bob mcmanus | December 23, 2011

  4. Adam, what make is the keyboard, and are you happy with the way the keys are weighted? I’m looking for a new keyboard and am having trouble deciding. (I keep thinking I want a full keyboard, but to be honest I probably would never miss the six highest and lowest keys.)

    Comment by jms | December 27, 2011

  5. It’s a Casio WK200. The keys aren’t really weighted, but they are pressure-sensitive — much better than my old one. I haven’t run into problems with the top end of the keyboard being shortened, but I have played pieces where I was missing low notes.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | December 27, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

