The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Spoiler Alert Thursday

Consider this an “open thread” because there was quite literally nothing on at all. There was so little on this past week that I didn’t even know it was Thursday today because without a TV schedule (or classes to teach), I don’t know what day of the week it is. Feel free to engage in retrospective analysis of the past half-season of TV or look forward to the next half-season of TV. For my part, I’m interested to see how the second half of “The Walking Dead” plays out given the change in show runners and that the last episode was quite good in a rather terrible half season. I just hope that wherever they go next, the following happens: (1) Rick’s wife miscarries or aborts; (2) Bella doesn’t follow her boyfriend, Shortround, off the farm. I’m also interested to see how the second half of “Supernatural” goes given that Bobby and Castiel are dead–Sam and Dean have absolutely no support network we know of; everyone they know is dead. And, obviously, looking even further ahead, I’m excited about the new season of “True Blood”–with Christopher Meloni joining the cast and Russell Edgington returning–and the next season of “Game of Thrones” (the corresponding book of which I just finished reading last night; should I begin on “A Storm of Swords” or move on to class prep?). In terms of what we watched this week, we’ve made it about sixty percent through the first season of “Game of Thrones” (again); Ned just got stabbed in the leg by one of Jaime’s guards. Like “The Wire,” the show makes a lot more sense the second time through.

December 29, 2011 - Posted by | Spoiler Alert Thursdays

6 Comments

  1. Game of Thrones is on our Netflix “saved” queue, so we’ll be watching that as soon as the DVDs come out.

    I thought this season of Boardwalk Empire was very good, but weirdly, I don’t feel any particular desire to find out what happens next. If they had an Oedipus-based plot this season, it looks like they’re setting up Antigone for next season — and we already know how that one turns out. (I thought about writing an article for PopMatters or something sharing these profound insights, then I stopped caring about 15 minutes later.)

    The last few episodes of Dexter made me want to give up on TV altogether. In a way, I was always going to stop watching so much TV sooner or later — I’ve already written two damn books on TV shows, which is my way of “redeeming” my TV time, and I don’t think I can realistically do any more in that vein. Breaking Bad will be ending after this season, I’m definitely giving up on Dexter, Mad Men is bound to go into decline soon (in fact, arguably it already has)…. The only two shows I’m reasonably confident about on an ongoing basis are Justified and Boardwalk Empire, both of which are basically just competently done plot-based shows rather than “thinkers.”

    I’ve been wanting to get cable for the last few months, but now I don’t see the point — it’s expensive, and I’m entertained enough as it is, maybe too much.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | December 30, 2011

  2. Mostly what Kotsko says, Mad Men and Justified. Luck did not overly impress, except that Hoffman and Farina are both amazing, and had an excellent chemistry. But I have no romance for the track, and hate horses. The Don Cheadle show looks a little too loose.

    For some reason I looked up Andy Whitfield last night. He died September 11, 39 years old, kids age 4 and 6. Spartacus was not a good show, but I liked him and enjoyed his enthusiasm and I think joy at getting a breakthrough part and a decent check. The IMBD boards are full of “I hate God for this.”

    Jon Hamm and the rest had that gratitude and hunger at the beginning. I think the show is tired.

    I also looked up Eve LaRue. I swear she had a movie before The Barbarians that isn’t on her IMDB page. I was amazed and pleased that she has found steady work for 27 years.

    Comment by bob mcmanus | December 30, 2011

  3. I had forgotten about “Spartacus.” We enjoyed the show even though it wasn’t exactly the greatest thing of all time. I wish they had ended the show with Whitfield’s death or–better yet–included his death into the show: he’s killed in his sleep (offscreen) by the brother or cousin of someone he killed in the arena. The reason why everyone is Spartacus is because no one is Spartacus! It is encouraging the Gannicus will apparently be in the next season, but I’m not sure how Lucretia is supposed to have survived having had her womb cut out by Crixus.

    “Game of Thrones” isn’t a “thinker,” but is at least as good as “True Blood” or “Dexter”–likely better–at their best. Better than Peter Jackson’s “Lord of the Rings.”

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | December 30, 2011

  4. Yeah, that’s what I figured for “Game of Thrones.” God, has “True Blood” ever entered into a decadent phase this last season.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | December 30, 2011

  5. I found the witches annoying, but wasn’t as horrified by defanged Eric as most, at least until the last couple of episodes. With the exception of Russell, the villains have been somewhat underwhelming in “True Blood.”

    Comment by Craig McFarlane | December 30, 2011

  6. Homeland is great. I want to sit and write about it for a bit. One of the things I love about it is the way it ties domestic spaces to national security through surveillance — it’s a great fusion of two strands in television drama, the spy thriller and the family drama, and heightens the elements of each that the other has always had.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | December 30, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

