The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hastred

I hate my foul moods. I have developed the capability to know when they are developing but have not yet found the switch that turns the process off. Maybe some day. In the meantime I will have to endure seeing how The Wife endures them until she ultimately stumbles across something that shows me I am and will always be an ass. Luckily for me, it does seem that the moments in between my foul moods present some incentive for at least one person not to give up on me (yet?).

I hate the lack of time to do anything substantial. It seems like the world is conspiring to always find some way of getting in between you and doing something quietly and thoroughly. I hate that it only seems so but is just an illustration of my own lack of staying power and impatience.

January 17, 2012 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

4 Comments

  1. Maybe foul moods are not too bad: http://quoughts.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/delacolere/

    Comment by Guido Nius | January 17, 2012

  2. I hate my foul moods as well. I hate it when I let myself make a bigger deal out of something than is warranted, something to which I am particularly prone in electronic contexts. I hate that the likelihood is that the self-knowledge I am attaining as I reflect on my foul moods and big-deal-making is not going to change my behavior in any noticeable way.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | January 17, 2012

  3. I hate that my mood is usual so chipper and upbeat that any response – even very normal, reasonable responses that just don’t seem chipper – to a situation that reveals anything less is instantly viewed as my being “grumpy”.

    “I’m not grumpy! That just pisses me off.”
    “Well, you seem grumpy.”

    You know what can make me grumpy? Being told I seem grumpy.

    I hate that the music store to which I received a gift certificate for guitar lessons hasn’t called me back about getting guitar lessons. I told them I need lessons in the evening on either Mondays or Wednesdays. Nothing. Now I have to call them back and see why there hasn’t been a call back. The possibilities seem to be indifference on their part or inability to fit me in on those days. Neither option makes me feel warm and fuzzy. But no, I’m not grumpy.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | January 17, 2012

  4. I always tell The Children to stick with the program but I never listen.

    Comment by Guido Nius | January 18, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

